Cumberland County, KentuckyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Kentucky
Cumberland County
Guide to Cumberland County Kentucky genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Cumberland County, Kentucky | |||||||||
| Map | |||||||||
![]() Location in the state of Kentucky | |||||||||
![]() Location of Kentucky in the U.S. | |||||||||
| Facts | |||||||||
| Founded | December 14, 1798 | ||||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Burkesville | ||||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||||
| |||||||||
Cumberland County Kentucky Courthouse
| | |||||
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Census | Deeds | Wills |
| 1852 | 1799 | 1852 | 1810 | 1799 | 1815 |
| | |||||
Cumberland County Courthouse PO Box 275
Burkesville, KY 42717-0275
Phone: 270.864.3726[1]
Cumberland County Kentucky History
Parent County
1798--Cumberland County was created 14 December 1798 from Green County. County seat: Burkesville [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
1865, 1933--Disasters destroyed most records.
Cumberland County Kentucky Places / Localities
Populated Places
| Amandaville | Cloyds Landing | Hegira | Modoc |
| Arat | Dougan Town | Judio | Peytonsburg |
| Ashlock | Dubre | Kettle | Stalcup |
| Bakerton | Ellington | Leslie | Tanbark |
| Bow | Frogue | Littrell | Waterview |
| Burkesville | Green Grove | Long Ridge | |
| Claywell | Grider | Marrowbone |
Neighboring Counties
Cumberland County Kentucky Genealogy Resources
African American Research
The following have information concerning African American research. Both should be used:
- the KY African American Griots Project ~ The Kentucky African American Griots Project
- Sandi Gorin's Tips ~ Hangings in Kentucky 1792 - 1900
- African American Research (US) has more information about the kinds of records
- Kentucky Minorities has information specific to Kentucky African Americans.
Biographies
- KY Biographies ~ Jeff Murphy's Kentucky Biographies Project
Cemeteries
Kentucky cemetery records often identify birth, death, relationship, and military information, as well as religious affiliation.
- Cumberland Co. KY USGenWeb Tombstone Project usually gives the names of the deceased in alphabetical order by last name with birth and death dates plus any remarks.
- The KY Historical Society’s Cemetery Database
- African American Cemeteries Online ~ Partial index/transcriptions of African American cemeteries
- Cemetery Junction ~ Links to cemetery transcriptions
- Naming the Forgotten ~ Naming the Forgotten - The Eastern State Hospital Project
- Kentucky Cemeteries lists the national cemeteries in Kentucky with links to their web sites. The first link under Online Kentucky Cemeteries goes to the Kentucky section of Interment.net
- Random Acts of Genealogical Kindness Local volunteers may take photographs of headstones found in county cemeteries.
- Find A Grave can be searched by the name of a person or family to find where a person is buried. Usually gives birth and death dates often with a picture of the tombstone. May give obituaries, names of family members and links to their information in Find A Grave.
- Find A Grave also gives a list of cemeteries in Cumberland County and links to the information for the individuals buried there,
- TheFamily History Library Catalog lists some records of cemeteries in Cumberland County. Some of the books or others may be on Google Books or available at public libraries.
- ePodunk list of Cumberland County cemeteries gives the names of the cemeteries in the county with a link to more information such as address, phone number, and web site.
Census
| Historical populations | |||
|---|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± | |
| 1800 | 3,284 | ||
| 1810 | 6,191 | 88.5% | |
| 1820 | 8,058 | 30.2% | |
| 1830 | 8,624 | 7.0% | |
| 1840 | 6,090 | −29.4% | |
| 1850 | 7,005 | 15.0% | |
| 1860 | 7,340 | 4.8% | |
| 1870 | 7,690 | 4.8% | |
| 1880 | 8,894 | 15.7% | |
| 1890 | 8,452 | −5.0% | |
| 1900 | 8,962 | 6.0% | |
| 1910 | 9,846 | 9.9% | |
| 1920 | 10,648 | 8.1% | |
| 1930 | 10,204 | −4.2% | |
| 1940 | 11,923 | 16.8% | |
| 1950 | 9,309 | −21.9% | |
| 1960 | 7,835 | −15.8% | |
| 1970 | 6,850 | −12.6% | |
| 1980 | 7,289 | 6.4% | |
| 1990 | 6,784 | −6.9% | |
| 2000 | 7,147 | 5.4% | |
| http://ukcc.uky.edu/~census/21057.txt | |||
For tips on accessing Cumberland County, Kentucky census records online, see: Kentucky Census.
- USGenWeb Census Project ~ Kentucky Census Transcriptions 1850 - 1930
- The USGenWeb Census Images ~ The USGenWeb Census Images Project
- Kentucky Census Transcriptions ~ The USGenWeb Census Project
- Census Online ~ Census Online
Church
- Kentucky Christian Church Directory ~ ChurchAngel
- Catholic Parishes in the Diocese of Lexington
- Catholic Parishes in the Archdiocese of Louisville
Court
- Abstracts of Early KY Court Cases Abstracts of Early Supreme Court Cases ~ KYGenWeb Special Project
- Kentucky Court of Justice Research & Reference
Genealogy
Families of Cumberland County, Kentucky are discussed in:
- [Cheatham] Dennstedt, Alberta Marjorie. "The Cheatham Family of Colonial Virginia," in The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 27, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1983):163-173; Vol. 27, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1983):273-279; Vol. 28, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1984):38-43; Vol. 28, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1984):102-112; Vol. 28, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1984):209-216; Vol. 28, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1984):293-297; Vol. 29, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1985):32-40; Vol. 29, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1985):123-127; Vol. 29, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1985):179-185; Vol. 29, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1985):262-265; Vol. 30, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1986):17-23; Vol. 30, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1986):99-104. Digital version at American Ancestors ($). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 27 (1983)-v. 30 (1986).
- [Lincoln] Hatcher, Patricia Law. "The Real Thomas Lincoln of Cumberland County, Kentucky: Not the Father of the President," The American Genealogist, Vol. 85, No. 4 (Oct. 2011):254-261. FHL Book 973 D25aga.
- [Warriner] Mireles, Dana Ann. "Jacob Warriner, Sr., of Buckingham County, Virginia: His Children and His Parents," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 38, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1994):83-93. Digital version at American Ancestors ($).
Land
Local Histories
Maps
Military
- Military Resources ~ Revolutionary War through Civil War
- Korean War Memorial Korean War Memorial for Soliders from KY ~ KYGenWeb
- Fallen Soldiers in WWI from KY ~ Fallen Soldiers in WWI from Kentucky
Miscellaneous
- KY Postcards Kentucky Postcards ~ The USGenWeb Archives Penny Postcard Project
- The KYGenWeb Footsteps ~ The Kentucky Footsteps Archives ~ KYGenWeb Special Project
Newspapers
- Kentucky News - Kentucky Newspaper Index with links
- Another Kentucky Newspaper Index with links
- Kentucky Newspapers on Microfilm - Kentucky Newspapers Available On Microfilm
Obituaries
- KY Footsteps Archives ~ KY Footsteps List Archives - thousands of obituaries here ~ KYGenWeb Project
- KY Obituary Sources ~ Kentucky Obituary Sources ~ Compiled by the KYGenWeb Project
- Links to research and locate obituaries
- Browning Genealogy Database ~ The Browning Genealogy Database - A Collection of Obituaries Compiled by Charles Browning.
- USGenWeb Archives Obituary Project ~ Kentucky Obituary Project
- Afrigeneas ~ African American death notices, obituaries and funeral programs compiled by users from current newspapers and historical sources
- Obituary Depot ~ Kentucky Newspaper Citations
- Obituary Daily Times ~ Citations to over 15,000,000 obituaries including interactive search function
- Nashville Advocate ~ Death Abstracts from the Nashville Christian Advocate
Probate
- 1815-1912 - Will Books B to I (1815-1912) have been digitized by FamilySearch - free.
Taxation
- 1799 - 1799 Tax List of Cumberland County, Kentucky is included in Clift's Second Census of Kentucky 1800,[3] digitized by Ancestry ($).
Vital Records
Birth
- 1852-1861 - Cumberland County Birth Index 1852-1861. Batch C517271 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
- 1874 - Cumberland County Birth Index 1874. Batch C517272 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
- 1875-1876 - Cumberland County Birth Index 1875-1876. Batch C517273 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Marriage
- 1852-1861 - Cumberland County Marriage Index 1852-1861. Batch M517271 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
- 1875 - Cumberland County Marriage Index 1875. Batch M517274 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
- 1876-1878 - Cumberland County Marriage Index 1876-1878. Batch M517275 at FamilySearch - free.[4]
Unsorted
- The Kentucky Vital Records Project Transcriptions of and Images of KY Death Certificates - A Work in Progress ~ The KY Vital Records Project
- KY Births & Christenings ~ Kentucky Births and Christenings, 1839-1960 Family Search
- KY Deaths & Burials ~ KY Deaths & Burials 1843 - 1970
- KY Marriage Records ~ KY Marriages 1783 - 1979 ~ Family Search
- Searchable KY Vital Records ~ Searchable databases of KY Births, Deaths & Marriages
- Kentucky Marriage Records 1973 - 2000 ~ Kentucky Marriage Records - 1973 - 2000
- KY Divorces 1973 - 1993 ~ Kentucky Divorce Records 1973 - 1993 ~ University of Kentucky Vital Records Databases
- The Social Security Death Index The Social Security Death Index - Searchable
Cumberland County Kentucky Genealogy Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Cumberland County Kentucky Genealogy Websites
- Cumberland Co. KYGenWeb
- KYGenWeb project. Has maps, name indexes, history or other information for each county. Select the county.
- State of Kencucky Website
- USGenWeb Kentucky Archives ~ Kentucky in the USGenWeb Archives ~ Vital statistics, maps, obituaries, Bible records, tombstone transcriptions and many other records.
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Cumberland County, Kentucky Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
Cumberland County Kentucky Genealogy References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Cumberland County, Kentucky page 270, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ G. Glenn Clift, Second Census of Kentucky 1800: A Privately Compiled and Published Enumeration of Tax Payers Appearing in the 79 Manuscript Volumes Extant of Tax Lists of the 42 Counties of Kentucky in Existence in 1800 (1954; reprint, Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2005).
- ↑ 4.0 4.1 4.2 4.3 4.4 4.5 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/f/f1/Igikentuckyaf.pdf.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 18 June 2013, at 16:54.
- This page has been accessed 3,003 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More



