Crowborough All Saints and St Richard, SussexEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Contents |
Parish History
Crowborough is a town in the Wealden district of East Sussex and the town is on the edge of the Ashdown Forest. See Crowborough Wikipedia and Wikipedia list of places of worship in Wealden
The parish of All Saints was formed from the earlier chapelry of the same name in Rotherfield, Sussex Ancient Parish and the parish dates from the 1881-1883 rebuilding.
From this parish was formed the chapel of St John see Withyham,_Sussex for a history of this part of the Crowborough parish.
The history of the parish and the subsequent St Richard Alderbrook are contained at Sussex Parish churches Crowborough All Saints and St Richard
Crowborough All Saints Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)
Resources
Civil Registration
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records
Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records.
Link to the Family History Library Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection
Census records
See
Probate records
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Web sites
Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 13 October 2011, at 09:34.
- This page has been accessed 99 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More