Cross Stone, YorkshireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
England
Yorkshire
Yorkshire Parishes, A-I
West Riding
Cross Stone
Contents |
Parish History
CROSSTONE, Cross-Stone, or Croston, a village, and a chapelry in Halifax parish, W. R. Yorkshire. The village is in Stansfield township, on the west border of the county; stands near Eastwood r. station, and 8½ miles W of Halifax; and had anciently a stone cross. The chapelry includes the village, and is more extensive than the township. There are three dissenting chapels.[1]
Resources
Civil Registration
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Registration District Todmorden
Church records
Online Records
Online data content from chapelry registers of Cross Stone exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
| AO = Archive.org | |||||
| FS = FamilySearch.org | |||||
| ANC = http://www.ancestry.com/ (£) | |||||
| HATH = HathiTrust.org | |||||
| JMI = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk |
| CROSS STONE PARISH (1813) Online Records | ||||||
| |
|
|
| |||
| |
Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images |
| FS | 1813-1838 | |
1828-1837 | |
1828-1833 | |
| JMI | None |
|
None | |
None |
|
| ANC (£) | None | |
None | |
None | |
| HATH | None | |
None | |
None | |
| AO | None | |
None | |
None | |
| HALIFAX ST JOHN THE BAPTIST PARISH (1538) Online Records | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| |
|
|
| |||
| |
Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images |
| AC | 1538-1910 | 1538-1910 | 1538-1935 | 1538-1935 | 1538-1916 | 1538-1916 |
| FS | 1538-1593, 1720-1847 |
None | 1538-1593, 1720-1837 |
None | Add | None |
| JMI | None | None | 1538-1599 | None | None | None |
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Croos Stone and comprising the whole ancient parish of Halifax to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the HALIFAX page.
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in date.
Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, nonconformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.
Parish registers for Heptonstall, 1593-1909 see Heptonstall, Yorkshire The chapelry of Cross Stone is included in Heptonstall registers.
There is a known issue England Vital Records Index (FamilySearch Historical Records) England Marriages 1538-1973 England EASy incorrect source information which has "West Yorkshire" marriage place entry and should contain parish or chapelry place Indexing batch numbers M10907-5 and M10907-6 are affected for this parish and Heptonstall, Yorkshire Baptisms, 1851-1904; Marriages, 1754-1820; Marriage banns, 1754-1765. FHL BRITISH Film 1450490 & Marriages, 1820-1872. FHL BRITISH Film 1450491
Census records
|
|
This section requires expansion with: any unique information, such as the census for X year was destroyed. |
Poor Law Unions
Probate records
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Web sites
References
- ↑ Wilson, John Marius, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72) Adapted 23 April 2013.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 1 May 2013, at 02:03.
- This page has been accessed 343 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More