Crawley, SussexEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
England
Sussex
Sussex Parishes
Contents |
Parish History
CRAWLEY (St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the union of East Grinstead, hundred of Buttinghill, rape of Lewes, E. division of Sussex, 9½ miles (N. by W.) from Cuckfield. Lewis,[1]
Crawley is an Ancient Parish in West Sussex and since 1947 has been designated a new town which contains 14 Anglican churches within the area of the new town. For introductory history to the expansion of churches Crawley Churches
The Ancient Parish church of St John the Baptist Crawley St John the Baptist has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building
Crawley Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)
From this parish the parishes of
Southgate St Mary Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC) Southgate Wikipedia
Christ the Lord Broadfield Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC) Boradfield Wikipedia
Holy Trinity Tilgate Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC) Tilgate Wikipedia
St Andrew Furnace Green Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC) Furnace Green Wikipedia
were formed.
Three Bridges St Richard Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)
Other places of worship in Three Bridges include
Free Church, Three Bridges Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)
Spiritualist Church, Three Bridges Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)
See also Crawley Wikipedia List of demolished worship places in West Sussex list of places of worship in Crawley Wikipedia Three Bridges Wikipedia
Resources
Civil Registration
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
For the civil registration history see Horsham registration district and For civil registration history see East Grinstead registration district
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex Centralised Certificates Office
Registration Service
West Sussex Record Office
County Hall
Chichester
PO19 1RN
Phone: 01243 642122
Church records
Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records.
Link to the Family History Library Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Crawley
Census records
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464160. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK
[2] to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.
The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.
Prior to the 1911 census the household schedule was destroyed and only the enumerator's schedule survives.
The 1911 census of England and Wales was taken on the night of Sunday 2 April 1911 and in addition to households and institutions such as prisons and workhouses, canal boats merchant ships and naval vessels it attempted to include homeless persons. The schedule was completed by an individual and for the first time both this record and the enumerator's schedule were preserved. Two forms of boycott of the census by women are possible due to frustration at government failure to grant women the universal right to vote in parliamentary and local elections. The schedule either records a protest by failure to complete the form in respect of the women in the household or women are absent due to organisation of groups of women staying away from home for the whole night. Research estimates that several thousand women are not found by census search. [3]
Poor Law Unions
East Grinstead Poor Law Union, Sussex
Probate records
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Web sites
References
- ↑ Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 717-720
|
|
This section requires expansion with: any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 24 April 2013, at 21:27.
- This page has been accessed 278 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
