Crai, BreconshireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Wales
Breconshire
Breconshire Parishes
Crai
Contents |
History
Crai/Cray - an ancient chapelry in Defynnog parish, possibly without own PR before 1813.
There is a reference to "Llanilid/Llanulid parish church" in the context of Crai (see also the National Gazetteer entry). Consent was given to rebuild the 'ruinated chapel called Llanthew chapel otherwise Cray chapel in 1752' (NLW) For more information see Defynnog, Breconshire at Genuki.org.uk.
Records
Civil Registration
Church Records
Census Records
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464300. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Probate Records
Maps and Gazetteers
Web Sites
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 6 January 2013, at 15:34.
- This page has been accessed 71 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More