Coweta County, GeorgiaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Georgia
Coweta County
Guide to Coweta County Georgia genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Coweta County, Georgia | |
| Map | |
![]() Location of Georgia in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | December 11, 1826 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Newnan |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Coweta County Courthouse 200 Court Square Newnan, GA 30263 Phone: 770.254.2690 Coweta County Website |
Contents |
Coweta County Georgia Courthouse
Probate Court has birth and death records from 1919,
marriage and probate records from 1828; Clerk Superior
Court has divorce, court and land records from 1828[1]
Coweta County Georgia History
Local histories are available for Coweta County, Georgia. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.
Parent County
1826--Coweta County was created 11 December 1826 from Creek Indian Lands.
County seat: Newnan [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Coweta County Georgia Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Coweta County Georgia Genealogy Resources
Cemeteries
Church
Court
Land
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local Histories
- Jones, Mary G. Coweta County Chronicles for One Hundred Years: With an Account of the Indians from Whom the Land was Acquired, and Some Historical Papers Relating to Its Acquisition by Georgia, with Lineage Pages. Atlanta, Ga.: Stein Print. Co., 1928. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
- Jones, Mary G. Coweta County Chronicles for One Hundred Years: With an Account of the Indians from Whom the Land was Acquired, and Some Historical Papers Relating to Its Acquisition by Georgia, with Lineage Pages. Atlanta, Ga.: Stein Print. Co., 1928. Digital version at Ancestry ($).
Maps
Marriages
1827-1849; 1885-1886 Georgia Pioneers
Military
Newspapers
Newspapers Extracts and Abstracts
Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Coweta County, Georgia newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog. Do a Place search for Coweta County, Georgia to find these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Probate
Colonial courts kept some early probate records. From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records. The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.
Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).
- Wills 1827-1847; 1849-1885; 1885-1910 (abstracts)Georgia Pioneers
- Index to Will Bk A 1828-1848 Georgia Pioneers
- Index to Will Bk B 1848-1892 Georgia Pioneers
- Index to Annual Returns Bk B 1837-1843 Georgia Pioneers
Taxation
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.
Vital Records
Marriage
- 1827-1871 - Coweta County Marriage Index 1827-1871. Batch M712601 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1852-1872 - Coweta County Marriage Index 1852-1872. Batch M712602 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1872-1878 - Coweta County Marriage Index 1872-1878. Batch M712603 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1873-1884 - Coweta County Marriage Index 1873-1884. Batch M712604 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1884-1895 - Coweta County Marriage Index 1884-1895. Batch M712605 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
- 1888-1895 - Coweta County Marriage Index 1888-1895. Batch M712606 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
Death
- 1859-60, 1879-80 - Coweta County, Georgia Mortality Schedules at Ancestry ($).
Coweta County Georgia Genealogy Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Coweta County Georgia Genealogy Websites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Coweta County, Georgia Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Georgia Pioneers
Coweta County Georgia Genealogy References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Coweta County, Georgia. Page 154 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 3.4 3.5 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/09/Igigeorgiaad.pdf.
| This Georgia-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 18 May 2013, at 02:17.
- This page has been accessed 1,559 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
