Colorado CensusEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
U.S. Census
Colorado
Census
|
|
Online Colorado indexes and images
| Online Federal and State Population Schedules of Colorado | |||||||||||
| Free | Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card)* | Pay | |||||||||
| Family Search[1] |
Internet Archive[2] | Misc. | Heritage Quest[3] | Fold3[4] | Ancestry FHL[5] | Ancestry Library[5] | Ancestry Home[5] | Archives[6] | Family Link[7] | ||
| 1940 | indexes | Link | - | Link Link |
- | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | - |
| images | Link | - | Link Link Link |
- | - | Link | Link | Link | - | Link | |
| 1930 | indexes | Link | - | - | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | Link | Link |
| images | Link | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | Link | Link | ||
| 1920 | indexes | Link | - | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | Link | Link | |
| images | Link | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | Link | - | Link | |
| 1910 | indexes | Link | - | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | - |
| images | Link | Link | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | - | Link | |
| 1900 | indexes | Link | Soundex | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | - |
| images | Link | Link | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | - | Link | |
| partial 1885 Federal | indexes | Link | - | - | - | - | Link | Link | Link | - | - |
| images | - | - | - | - | - | Link | Link | Link | - | - | |
| 1880 | indexes | Link | Soundex | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | - |
| images | - |
Link | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | - | Link | |
| 1870 | indexes | Link | - | Link | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | - |
| images | Link | Link | - | Link | - | Link | Link | Link | - | Link | |
| 1860[8] | indexes | Link | - | - | Link | Link | Link | Link | Link | Link | Link |
| images | - |
NE Link KS Link NM Link | - | NELink KSLink NMLink | NE Link KS Link NM Link | NE Link KS Link NM Link | NE Link KS Link NM Link | NE Link KS Link NM Link | - | Link | |
| Family Search | Internet Archive | Misc. | Heritage Quest | Fold3 | Ancestry FHL | Ancestry Library | Ancestry Home | Archives | Family Link | ||
| Free | Free at Some Libraries (usually with a library card) | Pay | |||||||||
Federal population schedules
Microfilm Images
| 1940 N/A | 1910 | 1870 |
| 1930 | 1900 and Soundex | |
| 1920 and Soundex | 1880 and Soundex |
| 1940 N/A | 1910 T624 | 1870 M593 |
| 1930 T626 | 1900 T623 and Soundex T1035 | |
| 1920 T625 and Soundex M1552 | 1880 T9 and Soundex T738 |
Indexes: fiche, film, or book
For a list of microform and book indexes for the population schedules of Colorado, click here
Federal non-population schedules
Online indexes and images
| Online Federal Non-Population Schedules for Colorado | ||||||||||
| |
Free | Free at Some Libraries (usually with library card) | Pay | |||||||
| Year | Type | Record Search | Heritage Quest | Ancestry FHL | Ancestry Library | Ancestry Home | ||||
| 1885 | Mortality | - | - | Link | Link | Link | ||||
| 1880 | Mortality | - | - | Link | Link | Link | ||||
| 1870 | Mortality | - | - | Link | Link | Link | ||||
| 1860 | Mortality | - | - | Link | Link | Link | ||||
Microfilm images
Family History Library Federal Census Non-Population Schedule Microfilms for Colorado
- Indian census rolls, Consolidated Ute, 1923-1939 FHL 575769
- Indian census rolls, Fort Lewis, 1904-1908 FHL 576838
- Federal mortality census schedules and related indexes: Colorado; 1870-1880 FHL 422411
National Archives Federal Census Non-Population Schedule Microfilms for Colorado
- 1935 Census of Business
- 1850 - 1880 Federal Mortality Schedules
Indexes: fiche, film, or book
For a list of microform and book indexes for the non-population schedules of Colorado, click here.
State, territorial, and colonial censuses
Colorado took several censuses in the years between the federal censuses. The dates are listed below. State census records may have columns that were different or more unusual than those found on federal censuses. The responses and years of coverage may give additional information on the family.
- 1885 Colorado State Census, 1885 at FamilySearch Historical Records
- 1885 Garfield county missing.[9] Arapahoe County available online.
- 1866 Logan, Morgan, Sedgwick, Weld and northern parts of Washington and Yuma counties only[10]
- 1860 The Kansas Territory federal census includes parts of Colorado. Kansas has a state copy of that federal census. That state copy and it's index including names from Colorado are available at the Kansas State Historical Society.[11]
Existing and lost censuses
For a list of available and missing Colorado censuses, click here.
Why use a census?
A well-indexed census is one of the easiest ways to locate where an ancestor's family lived and when they lived there. You can also use censuses to follow the changes in a family over time, and identify neighbors. These and other clues provided by censuses are important because they help find additional kinds of records about the family.
More about censuses
Click here for additional details about how to use censuses, such as:
A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:
Colorado 1885 State Census (FamilySearch Historical Records)
Sources and footnotes
- ↑ FamilySearch, a free online service of the Family History Library, including free images of many federal censuses.
- ↑ Internet Archive, a free online service includes free images of most of the federal censuses.
- ↑ HeritageQuest has arranged with many subscribing public libraries in the United States to allow users free access on home computers by means of their personal library card numbers. HeritageQuest provides images of all surviving 1790 to 1930 federal censuses, and indexes to many but not all of them.
- ↑ Fold3, formerly known as Footnote.com, a subscription site partnering with the National Archives and includes some federal censuses. Free access is available at many public libraries.
- ↑ 5.0 5.1 5.2 Ancestry.com, a subscription site that provides online indexes and images to all surviving federal and many state census records, among other sources. They have three online editions: (1) an FHL edition free only at the Family History Library and a few Family History Centers, (2) a slightly smaller Library edition free only at some public libraries, and (3) a Home edition subscription service for individuals.
- ↑ Archives.com, a subscription site that provides online indexes and images to all surviving federal census records, among other sources.
- ↑ FamilyLink.com, a subscription site that provides online images (and some indexes) to all surviving federal and many state census records, among other sources.
- ↑ In 1860 people living in what is now Colorado were enumerated as part of: (1) Boulder, Altoona, and other towns in the unorganized area west of 101 degrees 30' in the Nebraska Territory census, (2) Arapahoe County, in the Kansas Territory census, or (3) Taos County, and perhaps, Mora County, in the New Mexico Territory census.
- ↑ William Thorndale, and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses, 1790-1920 (Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing, 1987), 55, says Fremont and Garfield counties missing (from National Archives copy); Colorado State Archives copy includes Fremont, but lacks Garfield and 18 other counties.
- ↑ Ann S. Lainhart, State Census Records (Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing, 1992)[[FHL book 973 X2Lai]], 27-28, lists an index, Arliss Shaffer Monk, Index to a Weld County Census, Colorado Territory, 1866 (1978).
- ↑ Lainhart, 45.
| ||||
| ||||||||||||||||||
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 8 June 2012, at 21:32.
- This page has been accessed 4,753 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More