Colchester St Mary at the Walls, EssexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Essex Gotoarrow.png Essex Parishes Gotoarrow.png Colchester St Mary at the Walls

St James the Great Colchester Essex.jpg

Contents

Parish History

COLCHESTER, is a borough and a market town, it has a separate jurisdiction, and is the head of a union; it is locally in the Colchester division of the hundred of Lexden, and N. division of Essex. It contains the parishes of Bere-Church, Greenstead, Lexden, and Mile-End. Colchester is situation on the river Colne.[1]

Colchester, is a town, a district, and a division, in Essex. The town stands on the river Colne, at the junction of the Eastern Counties, the Eastern Union, and the Wivenhoe railways, it is 21 1/2 miles NE of Chelmsford.

St. Mary-at-the-Walls was destroyed then rebuilt in 1713. The other parishes in the town are: All Saints, St. Giles, St. James, St. Leonard, St. Martin,St. Mary-at-the-Walls, St. Mary Magdalene, St. Nicholas, St. Runwald, Holy Trinity, St. Peter, St. Botolph, and St. John. The places of worship within the borough, in 1851, were Church of England, Independents (1863), Baptists, Quakers (1076), Wesleyan Methodists, Primitive Methodists, the New Church, Latter Day Saints, and Roman Catholics.[2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Colchester St Mary at the Walls, Essex Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1561
1561
1559
Images 1561-1968 EssexAncestors[3] 1561-1957 EssexAncestors[3] 1559-1932 EssexAncestors[3]
Indexes 1561-1885 FamilySearch[4] 1561-1837 FamilySearch[5] 1791-1932 FindMyPast[6]
1880-1912 Ancestry[7] 1561-1754 FindMyPast[8]

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.

Census records

Colchester Arts Centre, St Mary at the Walls church .jpg
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241380. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
  • FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
  • FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
  • Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
  • The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
  • FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.

Poor Law Unions

Colchester Poor Law Union,Essex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Adapted 14 May 2013
  2. Wilson, John M., Imperial Gazetteer of England (1870-72) Adapted 14 May 2013
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 16 April 2012.
  4. Batch J120111, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Essex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 April 2012.
  5. Batch M120111, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Essex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 20 April 2012.
  6. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 11 April 2012. For a breakdown of missing years, see 'National Burial Index - Coverage: Essex,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 23 April 2012.
  7. 'Vital Records Index - British Isles - Collection List,' British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd ed., hosted at Genoot, accessed 14 April 2012.
  8. 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county,' Origins.net, (WayBack Machine) accessed 3 March 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 May 2013, at 14:23.
  • This page has been accessed 505 times.