Coal County, OklahomaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Coal County, Oklahoma genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.
|Coal County, Oklahoma|
| Map of Oklahoma highlighting Coal County|
Location in the state of Oklahoma
| Map of the U.S. highlighting Oklahoma|
Location of Oklahoma in the U.S.
|Founded||July 16, 1907|
|Address|| Coal County Courthouse|
4 N. Main Street
Coalgate, Oklahoma 74538
Coal County Courthouse
4 N Main Street
Coalgate, OK 74538
Clerk Court has marriage, divorce, probate and court records from 1907;
County Clerk has land records from 1907 and military records from 1917
1907--Coal County was created 16 July 1907 from Cherokee Lands.
County seat: Coalgate 
For tips on accessing Coal County, Oklahoma census records online, see: Oklahoma Census.
- NewspaperArchive.com ($) has historical newspapers online including Ada newspapers that may have included Cole County residents. This database is sometimes free at libraries.
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Coal County, Oklahoma. Page 558 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
|This Oklahoma-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it.
While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List.
- This page was last modified on 13 March 2013, at 17:44.
- This page has been accessed 1,094 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More