Clearfield County, PennsylvaniaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Pennsylvania
Clearfield County
Clearfield County, Pennsylvania genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, Revolutionary War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.
| Clearfield County, Pennsylvania | |||||||
| Map | |||||||
![]() Location in the state of Pennsylvania | |||||||
![]() Location of Pennsylvania in the U.S. | |||||||
| Facts | |||||||
| Founded | March 26, 1804 | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Clearfield | ||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||
| Address | Clearfield County Courthouse 230 East Market Street Clearfield, PA 16830 Clearfield County Website | ||||||
| |||||||
Clearfield County Pennsylvania Historical Facts
| Beginning dates for major county records | |||||
| |
|
|
|
| |
| |
|
|
|
| |
- Parent Counties: Formed from Lycoming and Huntingdon Counties 26 March 1804.[1]
- County Seat: Clearfield
- Neighboring Counties: Clearfield County, Pennsylvania residents may also have records in [2]Elk and Cameron (north) • Clinton (northeast) • Jefferson (west) • Cambria (south) • Blair (southeast) • Centre (east) • Indiana (southwest)
Boundary Changes
- 9 March 1771: The southern part of today's Clearfield County was part of Bedford County when it was formed.
- 1785: The northern part of future Clearfield County was tansferred to Northumberland County; the southern part remained in Bedford County.
- 20 September 1787: The southern part of future Clearfield County went with Huntingdon County when it was created; the northern part remained with Northumberland County.
- 13 April 1795: The northern part of future Clearfield County became part of Lycoming County when it was created in 1795; the southern part remained in Huntingdon County.
- 18 April 1843: A northern swath of Clearfield County became part of Elk County when it was created.
Clearfield County Pennsylvania Genealogy Resources
Bible Records
Cemeteries
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
| Online Grave Transcripts | Published Grave Transcripts | County Cemetery Directories |
| Findagrave.com | Family History Library | |
| Interment.net | WorldCat | |
| USGenWeb-transcriptions USGenWeb-tombstone photos |
||
| Pennsylvania Genealogy | ||
| Pennsylvania Gravestones | ||
| Billion Graves | ||
| Names in Stone | ||
| Access Genealogy | ||
| Ancestry($) | ||
| |
||
| See Pennsylvania Cemeteries for more information. | ||
Clearfield County PA USGenWeb Cemetery Project
Clearfield County PA USGenWeb Archives Tombstone Photo Project
Census
For tips on accessing Clearfield County, Pennsylvania Federal (or United States) census records online, see: Pennsylvania Census.
There are no county or state census records available for Pennsylvania. County and city tax records can be used as a substitute when census records are not available.
Church Records
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. In Pennsylvania, church records are often used as a substitute for birth, marriage, and death information. For general information about Pennsylvania denominations, view the Pennsylvania Church Records wiki page.
Finding Church Records at Other RepositoriesAdditional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Clearfield County, Pennsylvania Church Records in online catalogs like:
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
County-wide Database - Multi-denominational
- 1708-1985 - Pennsylvania, Church and Town Records, 1708-1985 at Historical Society of Pennsylvania – $, free to members of the society; Also available at Ancestry.com – $; 7,542,774 entries. This database is incomplete for all counties.
- Contains church records of:
- Clearfield: United Methodist Church; West Side United Methodist Church
- DuBois: Lebanon Lutheran Church
- Houtzdale: Bethel Evangelical Lutheran Church; St. John's Lutheran Church
- Kylertown: Kylertown Presbyterian Church
- Morrisdale: United Methodist Church
- Osceola Mills: Osceola Mills Presbyterian Church
- Wallaceton: United Methodist Church
- Winburne: Winburne Presbyterian Church
- Woodward: Beulah Presbyterian Church
- Contains church records of:
- Clearfield County Church History at Clearfield County, Pennsylvania USGenWeb Archives Includes histories and photos.
Catholic
- "100 years of the Pittsburgh Catholic Diocese 1843–1943". Western Pennsylvania Genealogical Society Quarterly, 17:1. FamilySearch Library book 974.8 B2wg. Contains chronology, map, county-by-county information.
Quaker
- 1800s-1900s - Pennsylvania Quaker Records at Ancestry.com - ($); book transcription.
Reformed
Court Records
Clearfield County, Pennsylvania court records are housed at the Clearfield County, Pennsylvania Courthouse. For many counties copies of court records may be found at the Pennsylvania State Archives and in the FamilySearch collection. Note that within these collections some films may contain the same records, but have different titles. Other titles are not duplicates. See Finding Court Records at other repositories within this section for links to the online catalogs for these two collections. Films at the Pennsylvania State Archives are not available for inter-library loan. If court records are available FamilySearch films may be ordered at a local Family History Center.
Court of Common Pleas
The Courts of Common Pleas are the trial courts of Pennsylvania. Major civil and criminal cases are heard in these courts. Judges also decide cases involving adoption, divorce, child custody, abuse, juvenile delinquency, estates, guardianships, charitable organizations and many other matters. The Common Pleas courts are organized into 60 judicial districts. Clearfield County, Pennsylvania has its own judicial district. Judges of the Common Pleas courts are elected to 10-year terms. A president judge and a court administrator serve in each judicial district.[3]
Clerk of the Court
The Clerk of Courts prepares and maintains the records for the Criminal Division of the Court of Common Pleas. The Clerk signs and affixes the Seal of the Courts to all writs and processes, administers oaths and affirmations, and assumes custody of the seal and records of the Courts. The Clerk certifies and distributes orders of the Court. The Clerk also certifies and prepares bills of costs for the defendants and utilizes the computerized financial management system to disburse fines, costs and restitution.[4] For the Clearfield County, Pennsylvania Clerk of Courts address see the Courthouse section on this page.
Prothonotary
The office of the Prothontary is the custodian of all civil matters in the county. This includes naturalization, immigration, equity actions, judgements, federal and local tax leins, city liens, family court, arbitrations, license suspension appeals, appeals to higher court, commercial code filings, applications for passports and divorce proceedings. See the Courthouse section on this page for the Clearfield County, Pennsylvania Prothonotary office information.
Orphans' Court
See Vital Records
The Orphans' Court is responsible for a wide range of matters. The name of the Court is derived from the more general definition of "orphan," that being a person or thing that is without protective affiliation or sponsorship. This would include those not capable of handling their own affairs, minors, incapacitated persons, decedents estates, nonprofit corporations and trusts. It is the role of the Court to ensure that the best interests of the person or entity are not compromised.
It is believed the name of this court was borrowed from the Court of Orphans of the city of London, England which had the care and guardianship of children of deceased citizens, in their minority.[5]
For Clearfield County, Pennsylvania Orphans' Court contact information see the Courthouse section on this page.
Finding Court Records at Other Repositories
Additional court records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Clearfield County, Pennsylvania Court Records in online catalogs like:
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Emigration and Immigration
For information about emigration into Pennsylvania, see the Pennsylvania Emigration and Immigration page.
Ethnic Groups
Germans
Gazetteers
Genealogy
History
Published Histories
The following historical books about Clearfield County can be viewed and searched on the Clearfield County PAGenWeb Area History Page:
- The HISTORY OF CLEARFIELD COUNTY by Lewis Cass Aldrich published 1887
- The TWENTIETH CENTURY HISTORY OF CLEARFIELD COUNTY PENNSYLVANIA AND REPRESENTATIVE CITIZENS by Roland D. Swoope, Jr. published in 1911
- The CLEARFIELD COUNTY PENNSYLAVANIA PRESENT AND PAST by Thomas Lincoln Wall, published in 1925
Land and Property
Land records in Clearfield County began in 1805. These records are filed with the Recorder of Deeds office in Clearfield, Pennsylvania.
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts, indexes, mortgages, leases, grants, sheriff sales, land patents, and maps. Property records include liens as well as livestock brands and estray records.
The following are examples of available resources:
Online Land Records
- 1986–present Clearfield County offers free online access to indexes. Fees apply to view images.
Land Records on Microfilm
- 1804–1935 Deeds, 1805-1901; Index, 1804-1935. FHL 1436392 (first of 80 films)
Additional Resources
Note that the "Maps" section below includes maps related to land ownership.
See Pennsylvania Land and Property for more information about using land records, especially about original land warrants, surveys, and patents filed at the state land office.
Additional resources can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Clearfield County Pennsylvania Land in online catalogs such as:
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog.)
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search.)
Maps
- Ancestor Tracks has posted free, downloadable images from the Clearfield Co. Township Warrantee Maps by Ed Heary. These map images belong to us and are not be used commercially. We hereby give permission to use them strictly for personal use; please attrbiute to Ancestor Tracks.
- Clearfield County Maps at Clearfield County, Pennsylvania USGenWeb Archives including Clearfield County Clickable USGS Township Map.
Migration
Military
World War II
- Clearfield County Military Records at Clearfield County, Pennsylvania USGenWeb Archives. WWII Soldiers killed in action, missing in action, prisoners of war and wounded.
Naturalization and Citizenship
Naturalization records can contain information about immigration and nativity. Prior to 1906, it is rare to find the town of origin in naturalization records. See Pennsylvania Naturalization for more information about the types of records and availability.
Naturalizations granted at the county level were kept by the office of the Prothonotary. Naturalizations could also be granted on the Federal Court level.
Naturalization records available for Clearfield County, Pennsylvania include the following:
Online Naturalization Indexes and Records
- 1820-1906 – Index to Declarations and Petitions in the Western District of Pennsylvania, US Circuit and District Courts located in US Naturalization Records Indexes, 1794-1995 database on Ancestry.com - ($), National Archives publication M1208
- 1820-1930 – Naturalization Petitions of the U.S. District Court, 1820-1930, and Circuit Court, 1820-1911, for the Western District of Pennsylvania on Fold3.com - ($), indexed, National Archives publication M1537, incomplete for all counties
- 1820-1930 - Naturalization Petitions of the U.S. District Court, 1820-1930, and Circuit Court, 1820-1911, for the Western District of Pennsylvania located in Selected US Naturalization Records - Original Documents, 1790-1974 database on Ancestry.com - ($), indexed, National Archives publication M1537
- 1820-1906 – Index to Declarations and Petitions in the Western District of Pennsylvania, US Circuit and District Courts located in US Naturalization Records Indexes, 1794-1995 database on Ancestry.com - ($), National Archives publication M1208
Original Naturalization Records on Microfilm
- 1805-1906 Naturalization Petitions and Alien Dockets FHL film 1463029 (first of 15 films)
Finding Naturalization Indexes at Other Repositories
Additional naturalization indexes can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Clearfield County, Pennsylvania naturalization in online catalogs like:
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Abstracts in Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Newspapers
Clearfield County, Pennsylvania newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.
To access newspapers, contact public libraries, historical/genealogical societies, college or university libraries, or state archives in the area where the newspaper was published.
For information on state-wide newspapers see Pennsylvania Newspapers
Newspapers of Clearfield County
- Pennsylvania Newspapers
- Chronicling America US Newspaper Directory
Online Newspapers
To learn if there are newspapers online for a specific town or city in Pennsylvania, see news.google.com/newspapers and search for the town or the name of a newspaper.
- Pennsylvania Civil War Era Newspaper Collection available through the Penn State University Library.
- Democratic Banner 9 October 1845-14 February 1849
- Country Dollas 20 June 1849 - 26 July 1850
- Clearfield Republican 14 Nov 1851 - 30 Dec 1854; 7 April 1858 - 5 July 1865.
Online Newspaper Abstracts
- PA-Roots Newspaper Articles for Clearfield County.
Newspaper Excerpts and Abstracts
- County Review, DuBois Area Historical Society (DuBois, PA), compiled by Shirley Clark, The County Review, December 1881 to September 1883 (DuBois, PA:DuBois Area Historical Society, c1990) At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL book 974.861 B3c
Obituaries
Obituaries are generally found in local newspapers where the person died. However, sometimes an obituary is found in the location from which he or she originated. To find an obituary, see the information under the Newspaper heading
| Sometimes the fastest way of finding obituaries is to call or email the local public library in the area where the person died. If the library does not have newspapers, a librarian often will know where they are kept. If a death date is known, and the newspapers are at the library, someone on staff will usually make a search for a small fee, or will indicate someone who will do the search. |
Online Obituary Abstracts
- PA-Roots Obituaries of Clearfield County.
- Clearfield County Obituaries at Clearfield County, Pennsylvania USGenWeb Archives
Obituary Excerpts and Abstracts
- Mignot, Margaret Billotte, History of the French Settlers in Covington and Girard Townships, Clearfield County, Pennsylvania (1981?] At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL book 974.861 D2m. Includes some obituaries.
- Wion, John H. and Democratic Watchman (Bellefonte, PA), Deaths in Central Pennsylvania; an Index to the Obituaries Appearing in the Democratic Watchman, Bellefonte, Pa. (S.I.:s.n., 1969) At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL book 974.8 V4w volumes 1,2 An alphabetical listing with name and death date.
- County Review (Clearfield County, PA), DuBois Area Historical Society (DuBois, PA), compiiled by Shirley Clark, The County Review, December 1881 to September 1883 (DuBois, Pennsylvania:DuBois Area Historical Society, c1990) At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL book 974.861 B3c
Occupations
Indentured Servants
Periodicals
Photos
Clearfield County PA USGenWeb Archives Photo Page
Poorhouse, Almshouse
Probate Records
Probate matters in Clearfield County, Pennsylvania are handled by the Orphans' Court and start when the county was created. To obtain original probate records, contact the Orphan's Court in the County Courthouse.
In addition to wills and administrations, the Orphans' Court also handles: audits of accounts of executors, administrators, trustees, and guardians; distribution of estates of decedents, incompetents, and minors; appointment and control of guardians; adoptions; appeals from the Register of Wills involving probate matters; inheritance tax appeals and various petitions and motions.
Online Probate Records
Original probate records for some Pennsylvania counties are available free online as digital images at FamilySearch.org. The dates vary significantly for each county and not all counties are listed. Some counties may only have probate indexes. This Pennsylvania collection of images may be browsed through the links listed below:
Complete Collection:
- 1683-1994-Pennsylvania, Probate Records, 1683-1994 at FamilySearch.org
Clearfield County Only:
- 1823-1919-Clearfield County Probate Records
- 1823-1919-Clearfield County Probate Records
Original Probate Records on Microfilm
- 1823-1919 Probate Records FHL film 1463025 (first of 20 films) - Indexes included
- 1823-1919 Probate Records FHL film 1463025 (first of 20 films) - Indexes included
Repositories
Archives
- The Pennsylvania Archives collection contains county archive records that can be searched onsite. Currently the Archives' staff cannot provide research or make copies of these records. Their collections include Almshouse Registers; Tax records; Birth, Death and Marriage Indexes and Records; Midwife records; African American records; Wills; Deeds; Naturalizations; Coroner's inquests; and Orphan's Court dockets. A list of the Archive's county holdings are on Microfilm or Manuscript form.
Courthouse
Clearfield County Courthouse
230 East Market Street
P.O. Box 549
Clearfield, PA 16830
Phone: 814-765-2641
Hours: 8:30 am - 4 pm M-F
The Courthouse Annex is located at 230 East Market Street and the Administrative Offices are located at 212 East Locust Street.
Register and Recorder's Office
P.O. Box 361
Clearfield, PA 16830
Phone: 814-765-2641, ext. 5987
The Register and Recorder's Office is responsible for recording deeds, wills, estates, marriages, adoptions, and guardianships. The office can be found on the first floor of the County Courthouse. The Clerk of the Orphan's Court/Register of Wills holds marriage liceneses (1885-present), Estates (1832-present), and births and deaths (1893-1905). The Recorder of Deed's Office holds original deeds, copies of which cost $.50.
Office of the Prothonotary
PO Box 549
230 E. Market Street
Clearfield, PA 16830
Phone: 814-765-2641
Family History Centers
Family History Centers (FHCs) are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources for family history research.
The main FHC for Clearfield County, Pennsylvania is the Brookville Pennsylvania Family History Center. For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the FHC directory.
Libraries
Museums
Societies
Rich in history, Clearfield County, Pennsylvania contains a number of societies dealing with the history of the area.
Clearfield County Historical Society
104 East Pine St
Clearfield, PA 16830
Hours: 1:30 pm - 4:30, Thurs & Sun, May-Oct
Free admission to the museum and $5 a visit to the Research Library. Membership costs $10 (Individual) or $15 (Family).
Taxation
Vital Records
Vital records are handled by the County Orphans' Court. Between the years 1852-1855 Pennsylvania made a failed attempt to record birth, marriage and death events at the county level. While the records for that time period are available, there were few events recorded. County marriage records were kept in earnest in 1885. Births and deaths, at the county level, were begun in 1893 and kept through 1905. Abstracts and copies of vital records are available for some counties, but most are incomplete. For the most complete set of records, always contact the County Orphans' Court.
| Use substitute records for birth, marriage and death information. These substitute records include Bible Records, Cemeteries, Church Records, Newspapers, and Probate Records. |
Birth
Early births 1893–1905 are located at the County Orphans' Court. See the heading Court Records on this page for contact information.
Indexes for Pennsylvania birth records are available through the Department of of Health for 1906 and 1907. Once an individual is located in the index a non certified Birth certificate can be obtained by writing and sending $3.00 to:
Division of Vital Records
ATTN: Public Records
P.O. Box 1528
New Castle, PA 16103
- 1852 - Clearfield County Marriage Index 1852 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C543912.[6]
- 1852-1854 – Pennsylvania, Births, 1852-1854 Index with images. Ancestry ($).
- 1941-1963 - Clearfield County Birth Index 1941-1963 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free. Batch C543901.[6]
- 1726-1930 - Pennsylvania, Births and Christenings, 1709-1950 - free index. Not complete for all years. This index is an electronic index for the years 1726 to 1930. It is not necessarily intended to index any specific set of records. This index is not complete for any particular place or region. This collection may include information previously published in the International Genealogical Index or Vital Records Index collections.
- Clearfield County Birth Records by last name at Clearfield County, Pennsylvania USGenWeb Archives
Marriage
Pennsylvania marriages are located at the county level. Contact the Clearfield County, Pennsylvania clerk's office for these records.
- 1700-1821 - Pennsylvania Marriage Records Ancestry.com – ($) This database is incomplete for all counties.
- 1725-1976 - Pennsylvania, Marriages, 1709-1940 - free index. Not complete for all years. This index is not necessarily intended to index any specific set of records. This index is not complete for any particular place or region. This collection may include information previously published in the International Genealogical Index or Vital Records Index collections.
- Pre-1810 – Pennsylvania Marriages Ancestry.com – ($) This database is incomplete for all counties. Includes 35,000 marriage records from vol. VIII of of the second series of the Pennsylvania Archives.
- 1852-1854 - Pennsylvania Marriages Ancestry.com – ($) Index with images.
- 1885-1950 - Pennsylvania County Marriage, 1885-1950 Extracted marriage records – free. This database is incomplete for all counties. May also contain marriage records earlier than 1885.
Divorce
Divorce records are available through the office of the Prothonotary. The office of the Prothonotary is located in the courthouse building.
Death
Early deaths 1893–1905 are located at the County Orphans' Court. See the heading Court Records on this page for contact information.
Indexes for Pennsylvania death records are available through the Department of Health for 1906 through 1962. Once an individual is located in the index a non certified death certificate can be obtained obtained by writing and sending $3.00 to:
Division of Vital Records
ATTN: Public Records
P.O. Box 1528
New Castle, PA 16103
- 1852-1854 – Pennsylvania Deaths Ancestry.com – ($) Index with images.
- 1891-1906 - Clearfield County Marriage Index 1891-1906 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch - free.[6]
- Clearfield County PA USGenWeb Archives Death Register Page
Finding Vital Records at Other Repositories
Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Clearfield County, Pennsylvania Vital Records in online catalogs like:
- Historical Society of Pennsylvania
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Clearfield County Pennsylvania Genealogy Websites
- Clearfield County PA USGenWeb Project.
- Linkpendium - Clearfield County
- Clearfield County PA-Roots Genealogy Project
- Family History Library Catalog
Clearfield County Pennsylvania Places
Populated Places
A listing of the Towns, Boroughs, and Villages of Clearfield County can be found at Clearfield County PAGenWeb Project - Towns Boroughs Villages
Clearfield County Pennsylvania Genealogy References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Adams County, Pennsylvania" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Adams_County,_Pennsylvania (accessed 17 July 2012).
- ↑ The Unified Judicial System of Pennsylvania http://www.pacourts.us/T/CommonPleas/ accessed 10 July 2012.
- ↑ Unified Judicial System of Pennsylvania, Clerk of Courts in http://www.pacourts.us/T/CommonPleas/ClerksOfCourts.htm (accessed 25 Aug 2012)
- ↑ The Philadelphia Courts at http://www.courts.phila.gov/common-pleas/orphans/ accessed 10 July 2012
- ↑ 6.0 6.1 6.2 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/2/23/Igipennsylvaniac.pdf.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 15 May 2013, at 22:37.
- This page has been accessed 3,995 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More




