Claughton St Chad, LancashireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
England
Lancashire
Lancashire Parishes
Contents |
Parish History
Claughton St Chad is an Ancient Parish in the county of Lancashire. From 1847 it was in the Tunstall deanery of the Diocese of Manchester. It should not be confused with Garstang, Lancashire which includes Claughton village.
The Diocese of Blackburn is a Church of England diocese, covering much of Lancashire, created in 1926 from part of the Diocese of Manchester. The Diocese includes the towns of Blackburn, Blackpool, Burnley, and the cities of Lancaster, and Preston, as well as a large part of the Ribble Valley.
St Chad's Church was closed by the Church of England in 2002 due to a decline in the number of worshippers and the fact that the building was in need of modernisation. The church was part of the Hornby with Claughton parish. There was a church on the site as early as 1100.
There is a brick works in the village, and aerial ropeways above the road transport clay from Claughton Moor
"CLAUGHTON St Chad, a parish, in the hundred of Lonsdale south of the Sands, N. division of the county of Lancaster, 7 miles northeast by east of Lancaster. The original church was built in 1070; the present edifice in 1815."[1]
There were no known chapelries in Claughton St Chad's Parish.
Resources
Civil Registration
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD
Lancashire Online Parish Clerks
An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/
Church records
Online Records
Extensive online content for the parish of Claughton St Chad's Parish is now available to view, mostly at no cost. The following web sites provide wonderful views for searching in this parish and some of its satellite chapelries, as follows:
[Note: FS = FamilySearch.org; LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk project;AC = Ancestry.co.uk]
| CLAUGHTON ST CHAD PARISH (1701) Online Records | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| |
|
|
| |||
| |
Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images |
| FS | 1701-1812 | |
1701-1900 | |
None | |
| LOPC | 1638-1877 | |
1638-1848 | |
1638-1877 | |
| JOIN | None | |
1814-1836 | |
None | |
| AC (£) | 1542-1695 | |
1542-1695 | |
1542-1695 | |
| FMP | |
|
1701-1836 | |
|
|
Census records
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306886. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Poor Law Unions
Probate records
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Web sites
|
|
This section requires expansion with: any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.. |
References
- ↑ A Topographical Dictionary of England by Samuel Lewis (1848), pp. 620-623. URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=50880 Date accessed: 29 June 2010.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 2 January 2013, at 01:55.
- This page has been accessed 373 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
