Church Kirk, LancashireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
England
Lancashire
Lancashire Parishes
Church Kirk
Contents |
Chapelry History
Church Kirk St James was created a chapel of ease by 1600, taken from and lying within the boundaries of Whalley Ancient Parish.
Other places in the parish include: Oswaldtwistle and Huncoat.
"CHURCH, or Church Kirk, is a township, in the parish of Whalley, union, and Lower division of the hundred, of Blackburn, N. division of the county of Lancaster, 4¾ miles east of Blackburn. This township, and the townships of Huncoat and Oswaldtwistle, form the parochial chapelry of ChurchKirk St. James and was built at least by 1600. A chapel was also built at Oswaldtwistle in 1837. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans."[1]
Resources
Civil Registration
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD
Lancashire Online Parish Clerks
An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/
Church records
Online Records
Church of England
Church Kirk chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Whalley to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:
| FS = FamilySearch.org | |||||
| LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk project | |||||
| FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk | |||||
| LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk | |||||
| AC = Ancestry.co.uk | |||||
| FREG = FreeReg |
| CHURCH-KIRK ST JAMES Chapelry (1600) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | 1600-1900 | 1600-1901 | None | ||
| LOPC | 1633-1900 |
1600-1830. 1837-1894 | 1633-1899 | ||
| LBMD | None | 1837-1993 | None | ||
| AC | 1600-1747 | 1600-1747 | 1600-1747 | ||
| WHALLEY ST MARY AND ALL SAINTS PARISH (1538) Indexes (ancient parish containing CHURCH KIRK Chapelry) | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | 1538-1888 | 1539-1837 | None | ||
| LOPC | 1538-1601, 1605-1845, 1848-1860, 1862-1875 | 1539-1601, 1605-1647, 1653-1900 | 1538-1601, 1605-1840, 1843-1891 | ||
| LBMD | 1837-1937 | None | 1837-1937 | ||
| FMP | None | 1539-1627 | None | ||
| AC | 1538-1601, 1605-1653 |
1538-1601, 1605-1653 |
1538-1601, 1605-1653 | ||
| FREG | 1538-1631 | 1539-1651 | 1538-? | ||
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Church Kirk and comprising the whole ancient parish of Whalley to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the WHALLEY PARISH page.
Parish registers for Church, 1633-1948 Microfilm of original records at the Lancashire Record Office, Preston.
Church is a township-chapelry in the parish of Whalley.
Lancashire Record Office call nos. : PR 457-464; 3037/1/1-9, 11-18, 23-27; 3063/1/4
| Content |
Film |
| Baptisms, 1633-1746; marriages, 1653-1656, 1673-1679, 1668-1673, 1680-1747; burials, 1675-1747. |
|
| Baptisms, 1746-1778; marriages, 1747-1779; burials, 1747-1783. Baptisms, 1779-1807; burials, 1784-1808. Baptisms, 1807-1812; burials, 1808-1812. Marriages, 1754-1777; banns, 1777-1779. Marriages, 1777-1809, 1813-1830. Churchwardens' accounts, 1710-1764. |
FHL BRITISH Film 93697 |
| Baptisms, 1813-1862. |
FHL BRITISH Film 93695 |
| Baptisms, 1862-1883. |
FHL BRITISH Film 93696 |
| Baptisms, 1883-1948. |
FHL BRITISH Film 93698 |
| Marriages, 1830-1868. |
FHL BRITISH Film 93699 |
| Marriages, 1868-1908. |
FHL BRITISH Film 93700 |
| Marriages, 1908-1948. |
FHL BRITISH Film 93701 |
| Burials, 1813-1948. |
FHL BRITISH Film 93702 |
| Baptisms, 1746-1778 (another filming); marriages, 1747-1779 (another filming); burials, 1747-1783 (another filming). Baptisms, 1779-1807 (another filming); burials, 1784-1808 (another filming). Baptisms, 1807-1812 (another filming); burials, 1808-1812 (another filming). Marriages, 1754-1777 (another filming); banns, 1777-1779 (another filming). Marriages, 1777-1809, 1813-1830 (another filming). Baptisms, 1813-1887 (another filming). |
FHL BRITISH Film 1470822 Items 8 - 21 |
| Baptisms, 1888-1900 (another filming). Marriages, 1809-1812 (includes churchwardens' accounts, 1804-1839). Marriages, 1830-1900 (another filming). Burials, 1813-1899 (another filming). |
FHL BRITISH Film 1470823 |
Bishop's transcripts of the chapelry of Church, 1600-1877. Microfilm of original records at the Lancashire Record Office, Preston.
Includes records of Christ Church in Chatburn.
Church is a township-chapelry in Whalley parish.
| Content |
Film |
| Baptisms, marriages and burials 1600-1605, 1628- 1642, 1665-1770 (Church); baptisms and burials 1838-1846, 1871-1877 (Christ Church); Baptisms and burials 1771-1842, marriages 1771-1836 (Church). |
FHL BRITISH Film 1068828 |
| Baptisms and burials 1843-1846. |
FHL BRITISH Film 1068829 Item 1 |
Census records
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306899. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Poor Law Unions
Blackburn Poor Law Union, Lancashire
Probate records
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Web sites
|
|
This section requires expansion with: any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.. |
References
- ↑ A Topographical Dictionary of England by Samuel Lewis (1848), pp. 607-612. URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=50877 Date accessed: Adapted. 29 June 2010.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 24 May 2013, at 00:21.
- This page has been accessed 757 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
