Chorlton upon Medlock St Clement, LancashireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
"CHORLTON-UPON-MEDLOCK, St Clement was created a chapel of ease in 1793, taken from and lying within the parish boundaries of Manchester ancient Parish. St Clement included 7 other chapelries which served this township of this area within the parish of Manchester).
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online transcriptions for Chorlton upon Medlock St Ambrose Chapelry exist, as well as those for the ancient parish of Manchester Our Lady, St George, and St Denys--to which it was attached. Links to online baptisms, marriages and burials registers are displayed below and located at the web sites indicated; note the ranges of years:
|LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk|
|FMP = FMP = FindMyPast|
|LBMD = Lancashire BMD|
|AC = Ancestry.co.uk|
|CHORTON-UPON-MEDLOCK ST CLEMENTS Chapelry (1793) Indexes|
|CHORLTON-UPON-MEDLOCK ALL SAINTS Chapelry (1808) Indexes|
|FS||1808-1910||1837-1930||1820-1881 - part.|
|CHORLTON-UPON-MEDLOCK ST AMBROSE Chapelry (1884) Indexes|
|CHORLTON-UPON-MEDLOCK ST LUKE Chapelry (1805) Indexes|
|FS||1802-1911 - part.||1859-1930 - part.||1819-1871|
|CHORLTON-UPON-MEDLOCK ST MATTHIAS Chapelry (1876) Indexes|
|CHORLTON-UPON-MEDLOCK ST PAUL Chapelry (1862) Indexes|
|CHORLTON-UPON-MEDLOCK ST SAVIOUR Chapelry (1836) Indexes|
|CHORLTON-UPON-MEDLOCK ST STEPHEN Chapelry (1854) Indexes|
MANCHESTER CATHEDRAL - OUR LADY, ST GEORGE AND ST DENYS (1573) Indexes
|LOPC||1573-1616;1777-1837||1573-1616;1782-1836 - part. yrs||1573-1616;1792-1836 - part. yrs|
To view a full list of all chapelries and district churches in the ancient parish of Manchester and their respective links to online transcriptions of their baptisms, marriages and burials, be sure to visit the MANCHESTER (CATHEDRAL) OUR LADY, ST GEORGE & ST DENYS page.
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438732. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
- ↑ A Topographical Dictionary of England by Samuel Lewis (1848), pp. 607-612. URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=50877 Date accessed: 29 June 2010.
- This page was last modified on 27 September 2012, at 19:11.
- This page has been accessed 106 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More