Childress County, TexasEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Texas
C Counties
Childress County
Guide to Childress County Texas genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Adopt-a-wiki page | |
| |
This page adopted by: Hidden Ancestors who welcome you to contribute. |
|---|---|
| | |
| Adopt a page today | |
Contents |
County Courthouse
Childress County Courthouse
Courthouse Box 4
Childress, Texas 79201-3755
Phone: 940.937.6143
County Clerk has birth and death records from 1903,
marriage records from 1893, divorce and court records
from 1900, probate records from 1894 and land records
from 1895[1]
History
Parent County
1876--Childress County was created 21 May 1876 from Bexar Land District. County seat: Childress [2]
The county was named for George C. Childress, (1804-1841), lawyer, statesman, and author of the Texas Declaration of Independence, son of John Campbell and Elizabeth (Robertson) Childress, was born on January 8, 1804, at Nashville, Tennessee.
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
1891--Childress County Courthouse destroyed by fire on October 21, 1891. All records were lost. [3]
Places / Localities
Populated Places
Towns and Cities: Childress | Carey | Kirkland | Loco | Tell
Towns and Communities from the Childress County TXGenWeb site.
Neighboring Counties
Resources
Cemeteries
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
| Online Grave Transcripts | Published Grave Transcripts | County Cemetery Directories |
| WorldCat | ||
| |
||
| |
||
| |
Epodunk | |
| |
| |
| |
| |
| See Texas Cemeteries for more information. | ||
Additional Cemetery Sources
- Childress County Cemeteries from the Childress County TXGenWeb site.
- Childress County Cemeteries - USGenWeb Tombstone Transcription Project
- FindAGrave - Cemeteries in Chilress County
- Childress County Cemeteries - Interment.net
- Childress County Cemeteries maps, transcriptions, information
Census
| Historical populations | |||
|---|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± | |
| 1880 | 25 | ||
| 1890 | 1,175 | 4,600.0% | |
| 1900 | 2,138 | 82.0% | |
| 1910 | 9,538 | 346.1% | |
| 1920 | 10,933 | 14.6% | |
| 1930 | 16,044 | 46.7% | |
| 1940 | 12,149 | −24.3% | |
| 1950 | 12,123 | −0.2% | |
| 1960 | 8,421 | −30.5% | |
| 1970 | 6,605 | −21.6% | |
| 1980 | 6,950 | 5.2% | |
| 1990 | 5,953 | −14.3% | |
| 2000 | 7,688 | 29.1% | |
| 2010 | 7,041 | −8.4% | |
- Childress County Census Records from the Childress County TXGenWeb site.
- 1850 Census - USGenWeb Archives Project
Churches
Court
- Childress County Court Records from the Childress County TXGenWeb site.
Land
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.
The Family History Library Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.
Original Land Owners of Texas - USGenWeb Archives Project
Landmarks
- Childress County Landmarks from the Childress County TXGenWeb site.
Local Histories
Local histories are available for Childress County, Texas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
- The Childress County Story, 1971
- Childress County History from the Childress County TXGenWeb site.
- Childress County History from the Handbook of Texas Online.
- 1926 Corral, Childress County High School - USGenWeb Archives Project
Maps
- Texas Counties Map. Click on the county to go to the TXGenWeb site.
Military
- Childress County Military Records from the Childress County TXGenWeb site.
- Confederate Pension Index - USGenWeb Archives Project
Newspapers
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Childress County, Texas newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Do a Childress County, Texas Place-name search for these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Obituaries
Photographs
- Childress County Photos from the Childress County TXGenWeb site.'
- Childress County Photographs - USGenWeb Archives Project
Probate
Stories
- Childress County Stories from the Childress County TXGenWeb site.
Taxation
Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.
Texas County Tax Rolls, 1846-1910 lists FHL films with county tax lists. The lists vary by county and year. Most records are between the years of 1846 - 1910.
Vital Records
See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas. Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. United States Vital Records has additional research guidance on researching and using vital records.
A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
- Childress County Vital Records from the Childress County TXGenWeb site.
- Texas Death Index 1964 to 1998 [no images] Name index to Texas Statewide Death Certificates or four million people who have died since 1964.
- Texas Death Records 1890 – 1976 [with images]
Name index and images of statewide death certificates, 1890-1976. The name index has been created by FamilySearch and is tied to images of the Texas death certificates. Few certificates are available prior to 1903
Societies and Libraries
- Childress County Heritage Museum
210 3rd Street, N.W.
Childress, TX 79201
817-937-2261 information
facebook page
- Childress Public Library
117 Avenue B, NE
Childress, Texas 79201
940-937-8421 website
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- TXGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- USGenWeb Archives Project - transcriptions and photographs
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Childress County, Texas. Page 660 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ GenDisasters.com - Childress, TX Courthouse Fire, Oct 1891 http://www3.gendisasters.com/texas/7340/childress-tx-childress-county-courthouse-fire-oct-1891
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 8 May 2013, at 00:45.
- This page has been accessed 1,741 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More