Cheltenham St Paul, GloucestershireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
England
Gloucestershire
Gloucestershire Parishes
Contents |
Parish History
St. Paul’s Church was designed by John Forbes, the famous architect of Cheltenham’s Pittville Pump Room in 1827 for the artisans congregation of this area.
This Greek Revival style building with a columned façade and cupola tower was built under the leadership of the Rev. Francis Close as a free church and paid for by voluntary subscriptions where unlike in other churches seats did not have to be paid for. Joseph Pitt, the developer of Pittville Estate, donated the plot of land. The ecclesiastical parish of St. Paul's was formed in 1846. The north chapel was added in 1932. Its stained glass comes from 1963[1]
St Paul’s was built to be the first ‘free’ church in Cheltenham, back in the days when you had to pay to go to church. The then vicar of Cheltenham saw the rich coming to his church but their servants had nowhere to go, so he set about building a church for the poor, a church where you didn't have to pay to worship God. That was in 1831, a lot has changed, but the mission is still the same.
In 2006 we formed a partnership with Trinity Church Cheltenham and in mid 2007 a number of people came from Trinity to join us on our mission at St Paul’s.
Today we’re a small but growing church, committed to worshiping the risen Jesus and to serving our local community in the power of the Holy Spirit.[2]
Resources
Civil Registration
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records
Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformists and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection
Census records
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288767. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Probate records
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Web sites
References
Contributor: Add any additional sites that aren’t mentioned above.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 8 September 2012, at 03:49.
- This page has been accessed 278 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More