Chartley Holme, StaffordshireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
England
Staffordshire
Staffordshire Parishes
Contents |
Parish History
CHARTLEY-HOLME, an extra-parochial liberty,locally in the parish of Stowe, S. division of the hundred of Pirehill, union, and N. division of the county,of Stafford, 7½ miles (N. E. by E.) from Stafford.[1]
In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson's Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Chartley Holme like this:
CHARTLEY-HOLME, or Chartley-Lodge, an extra parochial tract in the district and county of Stafford; adjacent to Stowe parish, 5½ miles SW by W of Uttoxeter.
Resources
Civil Registration
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records
Chartley Holme is an extra-parochial place. Search surrounding parishes for records and information. England Jurisdictions 1851 may be helpful Stowe, Staffordshire is the relevant parish
Census records
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474623. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Poor Law Unions
Probate records
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Web sites
|
|
This section requires expansion with: any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.. |
References
- ↑ Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 554-558. Date accessed: 23 October 2012.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 15 February 2013, at 16:52.
- This page has been accessed 184 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More