Chaldon Herring, DorsetEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Dorset Gotoarrow.png  Dorset Parishes

Contents

Parish History

CHALDON-HERRING, or East Chaldon, a parish in Wareham district, Dorset; near the coast, 3¾ miles S of Moreton railway station, and 9½ WSW of Wareham.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Chaldon Herring, Dorset Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1620
1620
1620
Images
1620-1819 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[2]
1813-1899 Ancestry[3] 1813-1921 Ancestry[4] 1813-1999 Ancestry[5]
Indexes 1735-1837 Joiner[6]

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection

Census records

Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241336. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:

  • FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
  • FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
  • Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
  • The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
  • FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites 

References

  1. Wilson, John M., Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales publ. London and Edinburgh: 1870
  2. Dorset, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Partially indexed.
  3. Dorset, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Partially indexed.
  4. Dorset, England, Marriages and Banns, 1813-1921, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Partially indexed.
  5. Dorset, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-2001, courtesy: Ancestry ($). Partially indexed.
  6. 'Search Marriage Records in Dorset,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 9 June 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 February 2013, at 17:36.
  • This page has been accessed 211 times.