Chadkirk, CheshireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Contents |
Chapelry History
Chadkirk St Chad is a chapelry in Cheshire and was created in 1745 from part of Romiley chapelry in Stockprt St Mary Ancient parish.
The chapel originated in the 16th Century, although the site may date back even further - to the arrival of St Chad in the 7th Century.
The well and spring exist to this day. Most of what we know about St. Chad has been written by Bede in his 'A History Of The English Church And People' written in Northumbria in 731 AD and, despite being of Roman persuasion, Bede had a very high regard for St. Chad.
ROMILEY, or Chadkirk, a village and a township-chapelry in Stockport parish, Cheshire. The village stands on the Peak Forest canal, adjacent to the Manchester, Hyde, and New Mills railway, 4 miles E by N of Stockport; and has a station on the railway, and a post-office under Stockport. The church was built in 1865. There is a Wesleyan chapel.[1]
Resources
Civil Registration
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Registration Districts
Stockport (1837–1937).
Church records
Chadkirk (Romiley) Chapelry registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:
| FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers | |||||
| FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts |
| Chadkirk (Romiley) Chapelry Online Records | ||||||
| |
|
|
| |||
| |
Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images |
| FS PR's | 1790-1895 |
NONE |
NONE |
NONE |
1755-1913 |
NONE |
| FS BT'S | 1790-1909 | NONE |
NONE |
NONE |
1802-1913 |
NONE |
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Parish registers for the chapelry of Chadkirk, 1747-1910 Chadkirk, also known as Romiley, is a chapelry in Stockport parish. Cheshire Record Office call number: P90/1/1-2, 2/1-2, 3337/1, 3/1.
An index for Cheshire parish registers is available online in Record Search. Here is a list of church records on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.
| Parish Register Content | FHL Film |
| Burials, 1747-1813, 1847-1868. Marriages, 1747-1754. Baptisms, 1747-1910. | BRITISH 2147234 Items 1 - 6 |
Bishop's transcripts for Chadkirk, 1790-1913 St. Chad's Church is a chapelry known as Chadkirk. The civil chapelry is called Romiley not Chadkirk.Cheshire Record Office: EDB 47
An index for Cheshire, Church of England, Bishop’s transcripts is available online in Record Search
| Bishop's Transcript Content | FHL Film |
| Baptisms, burials, 1790-1913. | BRITISH 1647367 Item 4 |
Non-Conformist Churches
- Romiley, Methodist Chapel (Primitive).
- Romiley, Methodist Chapel (Wesleyan).
For history of Methodist worship in Romiley http://www.romileymethodists.co.uk/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=7&Itemid=3
Non-Conformist Records:
Methodist records are held at Manchester Central Libray. Romiley Methodist Circuit (C19)
Census records
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241244. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Probate records
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Poor Law Unions
- Stockport
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Web sites
References
- ↑ Wilson, John Marius,Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72) adapted 15 February 2013
|
|
This section requires expansion with: any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above. |
Bibliography
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 15 March 2013, at 16:17.
- This page has been accessed 508 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More