Catoosa County, GeorgiaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Georgia
Catoosa County
Guide to Catoosa County Georgia genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Catoosa County, Georgia | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of Georgia | |
![]() Location of Georgia in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | December 5, 1853 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Ringgold |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Catoosa County Courthouse 7694 Nashville Street Ringgold, GA 30736-1799 Phone: 706.965.2500 Catoosa County Website |
Catoosa County Georgia Courthouse
Clerk Superior Court has court and divorce records
from 1853 and land records; Probate Court has marriage
and probate records from 1853[1]
Catoosa County Georgia History
Parent County
1853--Catoosa County was created 5 December 1853 from Walker and Whitfield Counties.
County seat: Ringgold [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Catoosa County Georgia Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Catoosa County Georgia Genealogy Resources
Cemeteries
Church
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.
Court
Land
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local Histories
Local histories are available for Catoosa County, Georgia. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.
Maps
Marriages
- Marriage Index 1858-1887 Georgia Pioneers ($)
Military
Civil War
Civil War Battle
The following Civil War battles were fought in Catoosa County.
- September 18-20, 1863 = Chickamauga[3]
- November 27, 1863 = Ringgold Gap[4]
- Map showing Civil War battles in Georgia.
Newspapers
Newspapers Extracts and Abstracts
Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Catoosa County, Georgia newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog. Do a Place search for Catoosa County, Georgia to find these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Probate
Colonial courts kept some early probate records. From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records. The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.
Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).
Catoosa County Wills 1874-1880 (digital images) . See Testators Names. Georgia Pioneers
Index to Catoosa County Wills 1874-1961 . Georgia Pioneers ($)
Taxation
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.
Vital Records
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia.
Marriage
Death
- 1859-60, 1869-70, 1879-80 - Catoosa County, Georgia Mortality Schedules at Ancestry ($).
Catoosa County Georgia Genealogy Societies and Libraries
Catoosa County Georgia Genealogy Websites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Catoosa County, Georgia Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Georgia Pioneers Georgia Pioneers ($)
Catoosa County Georgia Genealogy References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Catoosa County, Georgia. Page 152 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 13 August, 2012)
- ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 13 August, 2012)
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/0/09/Igigeorgiaad.pdf.
| This Georgia-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 29 May 2013, at 02:16.
- This page has been accessed 1,865 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More


