Carson City, NevadaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Nevada
Carson City
Guide to Carson City Nevada genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Historical Facts
| Beginning dates for major county records | |||||
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| * For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries | |||||
- Independent City
- Parent County: consolidated with Ormsby County in 1969 to form an independent city.
- Neighboring Counties:
Record Loss
Resources
Cemeteries
Church Records
Court Records
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political or Religious Groups
- Scotland Forever
2533 N. Carson St., Ste 848
Carson City, Nevada 89706
- Scotland Forever
Genealogy
History
Land and Property
Maps
Migration
Early migration routes to and from Carson City, Nevada for emigrant settlers included:
- California Trail 1844 to 1869 from western Missouri to northern California[1]
- Carson (River) Trail 1848 (aka Mormon Emigrant Trail) crossed the Forty Mile Desert past the west side of the Carson Sink to pick up the Carson River near Fallon, Nevada up to Hope Valley and Red Lake. The Devil's Ladder then climbed 700 feet (210 m) in half a mile so ropes, chains, and pulleys were required to lift the wagons. Carson Pass was followed by the relatively easy West Pass (Kirkwood, California) and then on to Pollock Pines, Placerville, and Sutter's Fort, California
- Johnson's Cutoff 1850-1851 (aka Placerville Route, Lake Tahoe Route and Day's Route) from Carson City, Nevada past the south end of Lake Tahoe going south and then west to Placerville, California and Sacramento
- Central Pacific Railroad since 1869 from Ogden, Utah to Sacramento, California[2]
- Central Overland Trail 1859-1869 from Salt Lake City, Utah to Carson City, Nevada through central Nevada on a route south of the Humboldt River][3]
Military
Naturalization and Citizenship
Newspapers
- NewspaperArchive.com ($) has a collection of digitized Reno newspapers going back to 1870. This database is sometimes free at libraries.
Obituaries
Probate
Public Records
Repositories
Courthouse
Family History Centers
Introduction to LDS Family History Centers
Libraries
- Carson City Library
900 N Roop St
Carson City, NV 89701
775-887-2244
- Carson City Library
Museums
Societies
- Carson City Historical Society
1207 N Carson St
Carson City, NV 89701
Telephone 775-887-2174
- Carson City Historical Society
- Carson City Genealogical Society
1509 Sharon Dr.
Carson City, NV 89701
- Carson City Genealogical Society
Taxation
Vital Records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
References
- ↑ National Park Service, "California Trail" (map) in California National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/cali/planyourvisit/upload/CALImap1-web.pdf (accessed 2 August 2011).
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "First Transcontinental Railroad" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/First_Transcontinental_Railroad (accessed 2 August 2011).
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Central Overland Route" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Central_Overland_Route (accessed 4 August 2011).
| ||||||||||||
</noinclude>
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 29 April 2013, at 18:11.
- This page has been accessed 830 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More