Carlton le Moorland, LincolnshireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
"CARLTON-LE-MOORLANDS (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Newark, Lower division of the wapentake of Boothby-Graffo, parts of Kesteven, county of Lincoln, 10 miles (S. W. by W.) from Lincoln; containing 331 inhabitants. The church is a neat plain structure, with a fine tower. There is a place of worship for Baptists."
Carlton-le-Moorland St Mary ia an Ancient Parish with the Elizabethan restoration of an earlier Norman church.
The Lincolnshire Archives refer to Carlton in Moorland for the small village between Newark and Lincoln, the civil parish was formed as Carlton-le Moorland.
A Baptist chapel with burial ground was built in the village also a Wesleyan Methodist chapel and a Society of Friends meeting house.
This parish was in the Bassingham sub-district of Newark registration district
This parish was from 1837 within Newark registration district
Following re-organisation of local government historical registration was transferred to Lincolnshire
Certificates can be obtained from:
PO Box 760
Phone: 01522 782244
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives,
St Rumbold Street
Enquiries: firstname.lastname@example.org The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue.
The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Carlton le Moorland Par 1 will identify available images.
Link to the Family History Library Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Carlton le Moorland
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438756. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- ↑ Lewis, Samuel A. Topographical Dictionary of England. Published London (1848); URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/source.aspx?pubid=445
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- This page was last modified on 23 July 2012, at 17:35.
- This page has been accessed 246 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More