Carlton Colville, SuffolkEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
England
Suffolk
Suffolk Parishes
Carlton Colville
Contents |
Parish History
CARLTON-COLVILLE (St. Peter), a parish, in the incorporation and hundred of Mutford and Lothingland, E. division of Suffolk, 3½ miles (S. W. by W.) from Lowestoft. [1]|
|
This section requires expansion with: a summary overview of the history of this parish. |
Resources
If you live in Suffolk you will have access to a variety of resources at local archives and libraries. For those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at LDS Family History Centres. Refer to Carlton Colville and Suffolk in the Family History Library Catalogue for available records.
Civil Registration
Carlton Colville is in Mutford district. To search an index of Mutford district records go to FreeBMD. The Suffolk Civil Registration article tells more about these records.
Church records
Parish Registers began in the 1500's. They can be viewed at the Suffolk Record Office. There are Bishop Transcripts and Parish Registers that have been filmed for most parishes in the County. See the Suffolk Church Records article for further details.|
|
This section requires expansion with: Information about parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, parish chest records, non conformist and other types of church records. Also add links to online parish collections. Make reference to records found in the FHLC. To locate resources, look at Suffolk Parishes in the FHL catalogue. |
Census records
There are census records available for Carlton Colville from 1841 to 1911. Census records are available on a variety of subscription and other websites. If you need to consult the 1841 to 1891 census on microfilm, refer to Carlton Colville Censusin the catalogue.
There is statistical data available for the census years 1801 to 1931 that records the number of houses, families, people, and other statistical data for every parish in Suffolk.
Refer to the Suffolk Census wiki article for details about the Census.
Probate records
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Suffolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Web sites
|
|
This section requires expansion with: any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above. |
References
- ↑ Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 520-523Date accessed: 27 February 2013.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 27 February 2013, at 17:10.
- This page has been accessed 252 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More