Campbell County, VirginiaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Virginia
Campbell County
Guide to Campbell County Virginia genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, immigration records, and military records.
| Campbell County, Virginia | |
| Map | |
| | |
![]() Location in the state of Virginia | |
![]() Location of Virginia in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | 1781 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Rustburg |
| Courthouse | |
Campbell County Virginia Courthouse
Campbell County Courthouse
P.O. Box 7
732 Village Highway
Rustburg, VA 24588-0007
Phone: 804-332-5161
Clerk Circuit Court has birth and death records 1912-1918
marriage, divorce, probate, court and land records from 1782[1]
| | |||||
| Birth | Marriage | Death | Census | Land | Probate |
| 1853 | 1782 | 1853 | 1810 | 1782 | 1782 |
Campbell County Virginia History
Parent County
1781--Campbell County was created 5 November 1781 from Bedford County.
County seat: Rustburg [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
- Lost censuses: 1790, 1800, 1890
Campbell County Virginia Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Campbell County Virginia Genealogy Resources
Research Guides
- "A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Campbell County," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 6, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1962):176-179. Available at FHL; digital version at American Ancestors ($).
African American
In 1860, Campbell County had one of the largest slave populations in the state (11,580 slaves). Ten years later in 1870, it had one of the largest African American populations in Virginia (14,343) - the town of Lynchburg in particular.[3]
- Freedmen's Bureau Letters or Correspondence, 1865-1872
- Heinegg, Paul. "Campbell County Personal Property Tax List 1785-1814," Free African Americans.com, available online. [Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in these records.]
Bible Records
Images of the Virginia Historical Society's family Bible collection have been digitized:
- Virginia Historical Society Papers, 1607-2007 - browse collection at FamilySearch; free.
Additional Bible records include:
Cemeteries
For a detailed list, including addresses, phone numbers, and external links, see Campbell County, Virginia Cemeteries.
The following is a list of cemeteries in Campbell County:[4]
|
|
|
- Tombstone Transcription Project Campbell County - cemetery transcriptions and photos - USGenWeb
Census
For tips on accessing Campbell County, Virginia census records online, see: Virginia Census.
| Historical populations | |||
|---|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± | |
| 1790 | 7,685 | ||
| 1800 | 9,866 | 28.4% | |
| 1810 | 11,001 | 11.5% | |
| 1820 | 16,569 | 50.6% | |
| 1830 | 20,350 | 22.8% | |
| 1840 | 21,030 | 3.3% | |
| 1850 | 23,245 | 10.5% | |
| 1860 | 26,197 | 12.7% | |
| 1870 | 28,384 | 8.3% | |
| 1880 | 36,250 | 27.7% | |
| 1890 | 41,087 | 13.3% | |
| 1900 | 23,256 | −43.4% | |
| 1910 | 23,043 | −0.9% | |
| 1920 | 26,716 | 15.9% | |
| 1930 | 22,885 | −14.3% | |
| 1940 | 26,048 | 13.8% | |
| 1950 | 28,877 | 10.9% | |
| 1960 | 32,958 | 14.1% | |
| 1970 | 43,319 | 31.4% | |
| 1980 | 45,424 | 4.9% | |
| 1990 | 47,572 | 4.7% | |
| 2000 | 51,078 | 7.4% | |
1890 Union Veterans
- Turner, Ronald Ray. Virginia's Union Veterans: Eleventh Census of the United States 1890. Available online, courtesy: Prince William County Virginia website. [Includes residents of this county.]
Church Records
Baptist
Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):
Campbell County fell within the bounds of the Appomattox Association, the Roanoke Association, and the Strawberry Association.
Church of England
See also Russell Parish
Quaker
Early monthly meetings (with years of existence):
- Hill's Creek Monthly Meeting (1778-1803)[6]
- Seneca Monthly Meeting (1781-1810)[6]
- South River Monthly Meeting, Lynchburg, Va. (1757-1839).[6] The original records have been microfilmed: FHL Films 33937-33939. In 1905, Bell published the early records, which are now available online for free at FamilySearch Books Online - free and Google Books - free.[7] Wright also published early records (1756-1800): FHL Book 975.567 K2w.[8] Hinshaw also published the early records: FHL Book 973 D2he 1993 v. 6.[9]
- South River Meeting House Graveyard database at Find A Grave. (64+ entries)
In the 1700s and 1800s, Friends from Campbell County, Virginia also attended the Cedar Creek Meeting House in Hanover County, Virginia.[10]
- Brown, Jane Douglas Summers and Jones Memorial Library. Jane Douglas Summers Brown (1903-) Quaker Records: Jones Memorial Library (Lynchburg, Virginia); MS 1515. MSS, Jones Memorial Library, Lynchburg, Va. Available on 26 microfilms at FHL. [Includes records of Campbell County Quakers; Brown assisted "William Wade Hinshaw in the writing of the Virginia volume of the Encyclopedia of American Quaker Genealogy."]
Court
Chancery Court
- Indexes (1793-1946) and images (1793-1914) to Campbell County, Virginia Chancery Records are available online through Virginia Memory: Chancery Records Index. These records, often concerned with inheritance disputes, contain a wealth of genealogical information.[11]
Genealogy
More than 60 genealogies have been published about Campbell County families. To view a list, visit Campbell County, Virginia Genealogy.
Immigration
- Coldham, Peter Wilson. North American Wills Registered in London 1611-1857. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2007. [Includes will a of resident of Lynchburg proved in London. These records often help establish an immigrant's place of origin.]
During the War of 1812, American officials reported finding a total of 11 British aliens, many of whom had families, living in Lynchburg, Campbell County.[12]
Land and Property
Grants and Patents
Land patents (pre-1779), land grants (after 1779) and surveys are available online at the Library of Virginia website. For step-by-step instructions on retrieving these records, read the Virginia Land and Property article.
- Hudgins et al. 795 patents dated 1736-1902 in what is now Campbell County, Virginia placed on a map. DeedMapper, 2010. [Names of those who received land patents, dates, land descriptions, and references may be viewed free of charge (click "Index" next to the county listing); however, in order to view the maps, it is necessary to purchase Direct Line Software's DeedMapper product.]
Local Histories
- Early, R. H. Campbell Chronicles and Family Sketches: Embracing the History of Campbell County, Virginia, 1782-1926. Lynchburg, Va.: J.P. Bell Co., 1927. FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($); and World Vital Records ($).
- "Index to Mrs. Cabell's Sketches and Recollections of Lynchburg", Bulletin of the Virginia State Library, Vol. 13, No. 3 (Jul. 1920):35-45. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.
Maps
Migration
- Elliott, Katherine B. Emigration to Other States from Southside Virginia. 2 vols. South Hill, Virginia: K.B. Elliott, 1966. Vol. 1 of original edition available at FHL; 1983 reprints (both volumes) available at FHL; 1990-1992 reprints (both volumes) also available at FHL. [Includes individuals who migrated out of Campbell County to other parts of the country.]
Military
French and Indian War
- Bockstruck, Lloyd DeWitt. Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1988. Available at FHL. [Identifies a Campbell County veteran; see place name index.]
Revolutionary War
- Chilton, Harriett A. "Revolutionary War Soldiers from Campbell County, Virginia," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 20, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1976):297-298. Available at FHL; digital version at New England Ancestors ($).
- Morton, W.S. "A List of Soldiers Who Made Declaration of Service in Revolutionary War," [Campbell Co., VA] The William and Mary Quarterly, Second Series, Vol. 6, No. 1 (Jan. 1962):79. Available at JSTOR ($).
- A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital versions at U.S. Census Bureau and Google Books et. al. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Virginia, Eastern District, Campbell County on page 129.]
- Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Book 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Includes veterans from this county; Virginia section begins on page 238.] www.familysearch.org/search/collection/show#uri=http://www.familysearch.org/searchapi/search/collection/1932427
War of 1812
Campbell County men served in the 53rd and 117th Regiments.[13]
- Douthat, James L. Roster of War of 1812, Southside, Virginia. Signal Mountain, Tenn.: Mountain Press, 2007. Free online surname index and purchase details at Mountain Press website. FHL Collection 975.5 M2djL. [Includes Campbell County.]
- List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, Virginia, Campbell County, pp. 65-66.]
Civil War
Regiments. Service men in Campbell County, Virginia served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Campbell County, Virginia:
- - 1st Regiment, Virginia Artillery (Confederate). Company C (1st) (Lynchburg Beauregard Rifles Artillery)
- - 2nd Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company B (Wise Troop), Company C (Botetourt Dragoons), Company I (Campbell Rangers)
- - 11th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate).[14]
- - 28th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company E (Clifton Grays).[15]
- - 34th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company C (Davis Artillery).[16]
- - 42nd Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company D (Campbell-Lee Guards) and Company I (Campbell Guards).[17]
Records and histories are available, including:
- Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers 1861-1865
- Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers 1861-1865
Naturalization
- Virginia Naturalization Petitions, 1906-1929
Newspapers
Jones Memorial Library has a free online obituary index to many local newspapers. They also have a great collection of newspapers accessible in their facility.
The Virginia Newspapers Project identifies local Campbell County, Virginia newspapers.
Professor Tom Costa and The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia have created a database of all runaway advertisements for slaves, indentured servants, transported convicts, and ship deserters listed in the Virginia Gazette and other Virginia newspapers (1736-1803), see: The Geography of Slavery in Virginia.
- 1794-1836 - Marriages and Deaths from Lynchburg, Virginia Newspapers, 1794-1836 (Ancestry) ($).
- 1797-1798 - Lynchburg Weekly Museum at Genealogy Bank ($).
- 1798-1799 - Lynchburg Weekly Gazette at Genealogy Bank ($).
- 1809-1818 - Lynchburg Press at Genealogy Bank ($).
Occupations
- Cutten, George Barton. The Silversmiths of Virginia (together with Watchmakers and Jewelers) from 1694 to 1850. Richmond, Va.: The Dietz Press, Incorporated, 1952. Available at FHL. [Includes a section on Lynchburg silversmiths.]
Probate Records
A free index to Campbell County, Virginia wills and administrations (1782-1800) is available at the <a href="http://lva1.hosted.exlibrisgroup.com/F/?func=file&file_name=find-b-clas08&local_base=CLAS08">Library of Virginia</a> website.
Local Court
- Clemens, William M. Virginia Wills Before 1799: A Complete Abstract Register of All Names Mentioned in Over Six Hundred Recorded Wills, ... Copied from the Court House Records of Amherst, Bedford, Campbell, Loudoun, Prince William and Rockbridge Counties. Pompton Lakes, N.J.: Biblio Co., 1924. FHL Collection Fiche 6015628-6015629; digital versions at Access Genealogy; Ancestry ($); and Heritage Quest Online ($). Free online surname index and 2004 reprint purchase details at Mountain Press website.
London Courts
- Coldham, Peter Wilson. North American Wills Registered in London 1611-1857. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2007. [Includes will a of resident of Lynchburg proved in London. These records often help establish an immigrant's place of origin.]
Taxation
How can Virginia tax lists help me?
- [1785] Fothergill, Augusta B. and John Mark Naugle. Virginia Tax Payers, 1782-87, Other Than Those Published by the United States Census Bureau. 1940; reprint, Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1978. Available at FHL. [1785 personal property tax list of Campbell County.]
- [1785-1814] Heinegg, Paul. "Campbell County Personal Property Tax List 1785-1814," Free African Americans.com, available online. [Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in these records.]
- [1787] Schreiner-Yantis, Netti and Florene Speakman Love. The 1787 Census of Virginia: An Accounting of the Name of Every White Male Tithable Over 21 Years, the Number of White Males Between 16 & 21 Years, the Number of Slaves over 16 & Those Under 16 Years, Together with a Listing of Their Horses, Cattle & Carriages, and Also the Names of All Persons to Whom Ordinary Licenses and Physician's Licenses Were Issued. 3 vols. Springfield, Va.: Genealogical Books in Print, 1987. Available at FHL. [The source of this publication is the 1787 personal property tax list. Campbell County is included in Vol. 1.]
- [1791, 1800] Indexed images of the 1791 and 1800 Personal Property Tax Lists of Campbell County, Virginia are available online, courtesy: Binns Genealogy.
- [1800] "Campbell County, Virginia, 1800 Tax List," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 13, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1969):61-64; Vol. 13, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1969):106-110; Vol. 13, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1969):159-162. Available at FHL; digital version at New England Ancestors ($).
- [1815] Ward, Roger D. 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). 6 vols. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co., 1997-2000. Available at FHL. [The source for this publication is the 1815 land tax. Campbell County is included in Vol. 2.]
Vital Records
Indexes to Campbell County, Virginia births, marriages, and deaths are available online. These collections are incomplete, but are easy to search. Courtesy: FamilySearch - free.
Marriage
- 1660-1800 - Virginia Marriages 1660-1800 (Ancestry) ($).
- 1740-1850 - Virginia Marriages 1740-1850 (Ancestry) ($).
- 1781-1854 - Ricks, Joel. Campbell County, Virginia Marriage Bonds 1781-1854. 1936. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online - free.
- 1782-1810 - Baber, Lucy Harrison Miller. Marriages of Campbell County, Virginia, 1782-1810. Lynchburg, Virginia: L.H.M. Baber and H.L. Williamson, c1971. Available at FHL; digital version of 1980 edition at Ancestry ($).
Death
See also Newspapers
The website of Jones Memorial Library includes a free online index to records of several local twentieth century funeral homes.
Vital Record Substitutes
Indexes to Campbell County, Virginia births, marriages, and deaths are available online. These collections are incomplete, but are easy to search. Courtesy: FamilySearch - free.
The Virginia Historical Society's Marriage and Obituary Index, 1736-1820 (newspaper abstracts) is available for free online. Images of the original index cards are browseable, arranged alphabetically by surname.
| For birth, marriage, and death record substitutes, see Bible Records, Cemeteries, Church Records, Newspapers, and Probate Records. |
Campbell County Virginia Genealogy Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Campbell County Virginia Genealogy Websites
- Campbell Co., VAGenWeb. Part of the USGenWeb Project. Maps, name indexes, history.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Cyndi's List
Campbell County Virginia Genealogy References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Campbell County, Virginia. Page 711 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Ninth Census of the United States: Statistics of Population, Tables I to VIII Inclusive (Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1872), 70. Digital version at Internet Archive; FHL Book 973 X2pcu.
- ↑ USGS Map, Topozone.com
- ↑ 5.0 5.1 5.2 5.3 5.4 Robert Baylor Semple and George William Beale, A History of the Rise and Progress of the Baptists in Virginia (1810; reprint, Pitt and Dickinson, 1894), 272, 303-304, 338-339. Digital version at Google Books.
- ↑ 6.0 6.1 6.2 Jay Worrall, The Friendly Virginians: America's First Quakers (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Publishing Company, 1994), 537-539. FHL Book 975.5 K2wj.
- ↑ James Pinkney Pleasant Bell, Our Quaker Friends of Ye Olden Time: Being in Part a Transcript of the Minute Books of Cedar Creek Meeting, Hanover County, and the South River Meeting, Campbell County, Va (Lynchburg, Va.: J.P. Bell Company, 1905). FHL Book 975.5 K2bj; digital version at Google Books - free.
- ↑ F. Edward Wright, Quaker Records of South River Monthly Meeting, 1756-1800 (Westminster, Md.: Family Line Publications, 1993). FHL Book 975.567 K2w.
- ↑ William Wade Hinshaw, Thomas W. Marshall and John Cox, Encyclopedia of American Quaker Genealogy (Ann Arbor, Mich.: Edwards Bros., 1950). Vol. 6. FHL Book 973 D2he 1993 v. 6.
- ↑ Mary Marshall Brewer, Quaker Records of Cedar Creek Monthly Meeting, Virginia, 1739-1793 (Lewes, De.: Colonial Roots, 2002), Introduction. FHL Book 975.5462 K2b.
- ↑ "Virginia Memory: Chancery Records Index Availability," Library of Virginia (accessed 26 January 2010).
- ↑ Kenneth Scott, British Aliens in the United States During the War of 1812 (Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1979), 320-333. FHL Book 973 W4s; digital version at Ancestry ($).
- ↑ Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 62. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
- ↑ Robert T. Bell, 11th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1985). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 20.
- ↑ Frank E. Fields, 28th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1985). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 15.
- ↑ Johnny L. Scott, 34th Virginia Infantry (Appomattox, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1999). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 135.
- ↑ John Chapla, 42nd Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1983). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 5.
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/3/37/Igivirginia.pdf.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 3 May 2013, at 20:50.
- This page has been accessed 7,137 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More



