Camden County, New JerseyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
New Jersey
Camden County
Camden County, New Jersey genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, Revolutionary War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.
| Camden County, New Jersey | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of New Jersey | |
![]() Location of New Jersey in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | , 1844 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Camden |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Camden County Courthouse 520 Market Street Camden, NJ 08102 Phone: (856) 225-5300 Camden County Website |
Camden County, New Jersey Historical Facts
1623: The Dutch of New Netherland intermittently occupied Fort Nassau (now Brooklawn, Camden, New Jersey) starting in 1623.[1][2][3]
1664: As part of the Second Anglo-Dutch War New Netherland including West Jersey was surrendered to the English.[4]
1673-1674: A new war broke out and the Dutch sent a large armada to retake New Netherland for a few months. But as the war ended the colony was ceeded to England for the last time.[5]
Parent County
- Created 13 March 1844 from Gloucester County. [6]
Boundary Changes
- 1871, Monroe twp. & most of Washington twp. to Gloucester County
- 1902, part of Waterford twp. to Burlington County
- 1926, part of Washington twp., Gloucester County added to Gloucester twp. of Camden County
- 1938, boundary with Atlantic County clarified
- 1950, part from Gloucester County
Record Loss
Camden County, New Jersey Genealogical Resources
Bible
Cemeteries
Census
Church Records
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Ohio denominations, view the New Jersey Church Records wiki page.
- 1708-1985 - Pennsylvania, Church and Town Records, 1708-1985 at Historical Society of Pennsylvania – $, free to members of the society; Also available at Ancestry.com – $; 7,542,774 entries. This database is incomplete for all counties.
- Contains the church records of:
- Audubon: Logan Memorial Presbyterian Church
- Camden: Bethany Methodist Episcopal Church; Epiphany Evangelist Lutheran Church; Filmore Methodist Episcopal Church; First Methodist Church; First Methodist Episcopal Church; Kaighn Avenue Methodist Episcopal Church; St. Paul's Episcopal Church; St. Wilfrid's Episcopal Church; Tabernacle Methodist Episcopal Church; Third Methodist Episcopal Church; Trinity Episcopal Church; Trinity Evangelical Lutheran Church; Union Methodist Episcopal Church; Wiley Methodist Episcopal Church
- Chews Landing: St. John's Episcopal Church
- Haddonfield: Grace Church; Haddonfield Baptist Church and Cemetery; United Methodist Church
- Contains the church records of:
Episcopal
- 1787-1815 - Stevenson, J.R. "Records of St. Mary's Church, Colestown, (Old Gloucester Co.) New Jersey," Publications of the Genealogical Society of Pennsylvania, Vol. 3, No. 3 (Jun. 1908):237-240. For free online access, see WeRelate; the Family History Library also has this series in its collection: FHL Book 974.8 B2p. Baptisms 1787-1815, marriages 1795-1796, burials 1794-1795.
Court Records
Emmigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
Gazetteers
- United States Geographic Survey Place Names - GNIS for Camden County (over 900 entries)
(may not always be present in alphabetic order on first try.)
Genealogy
History
Local histories are available for New Jersey counties. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section New Jersey Local Histories.
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See New Jersey Land and Property for information about New Jersey Proprietary land records. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Maps
Migration
Military
Naturalization and Citizenship
Newspapers
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Camden County, New Jersey newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Do a Camden County, New Jersey Place-name search for these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Occupations
Periodicals
Poorhouse, Almshouse
Probate Records
Probate records created after 1852 are held by the Camden County, New Jersey Probate Court. From 1797 or the creation of the county, probate records were held by the Court of Common Pleas. Most counties transferred all records to the Probate Court, but in some circumstances, Court of Common Pleas records should be searched for records prior to 1852. Most records are housed at the Camden County, New Jersey Courthouse. Some records are on microfilm at the Ohio Genealogical Society and the Family History Library. For more complete information about the location of county probate records see:
See the wiki page New Jersey Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (1867-1908 only).
Obtaining Copies of County Probate Records
Copies of recorded probate records and the estate files can be obtained from the surrogate's offices for a fee. Addresses of surrogate's offices are found in:
- Eichholz, Alice, Editor. Ancestry's Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources. Revised Edition. Salt Lake City, Utah: Ancestry, 1992. (Family History Library book 973 D27rb 1992.) Explains state-by-state history, vital records, census, background sources, periodicals, archives, libraries, societies, maps, land, probate, court, tax, cemetery, church, and military records. Includes county boundary map and table which shows when each county was created and the parent counties.
In addition, copies of the original wills, administrations, inventories, and guardianships sent to Trenton since 1901 can be ordered from:
Clerk of the Superior Court
Records Information Center
P.O. Box 967
Trenton, NJ 08625-0967
Phone: (609) 292-4978
Fax: (609) 777-0094
Repositories
Archives
Courthouse
Family History Centers
Libraries
Museums
Societies
Schools
Taxation
New Jersey tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information see the wiki page New Jersey Taxation.
Vital Records
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. United States Vital Records has additional research guidance on researching and using vital records. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the New Jersey Vital Records State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. Original marriage records are usually held at the county Bureau of Vital Statistics.
Camden County, New Jersey Web Sites
- FamilySearch.org Family History Library catalog for Camden County
- The Camden County NJGenWeb Project, an member of The NJGenWeb Project, an affiliate of The USGenWeb Project.
Camden County, New Jersey Neighboring Counties
Camden County, New Jersey Genealogical References
- ↑ Amandus Johnson, "Detailed Map of New Sweden 1638-1655" in Amandus Johnson's book The Swedes on the Delaware 1638-1664 (Philadelphia: Swedish Colonial Society, 1915), 392.
- ↑ "Fort Nassau" in Probert Encyclopaedia of Architecture [Internet site] at http://www.probertencyclopaedia.com/T_FORT_NASSAU.HTM (accessed 10 November 2008). "Fort Nassau was a fort erected on the site of the present town of Gloucester, New Jersey by Captain Cornelius Jacobsen Mey, representing the Dutch West India Company in 1623. It was abandoned and rebuilt a number of times, and finally abandoned in 1651."
- ↑ "Location of Fort Nassau" in Gloucester County, New Jersey History and Genealogy [Internet site] at http://www.nj.searchroots.com/Gloucesterco/fortnassau.htm#Location (accessed 8 November 2008).
- ↑ "New Netherland" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/New_netherland (accessed 13 December 2008).
- ↑ "New Netherland" in Wikipedia.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 181. [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 15 May 2013, at 21:30.
- This page has been accessed 2,424 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

