Cambridgeshire Civil Registration- Vital RecordsEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
When civil registration of births, marriages and deaths began in 1837, Cambridgeshire was divided into a number of registration districts , each containing several parishes. There was a reorganization of districts about 1935; thereby, many of the historical districts created in 1837 were replaced with new names and boundaries. Certificates can be obtained from district registrars in Cambridgeshire as well as the General Register Office. There is a duplicate of the marriage certifcate in the parish where the marriage took place; therefore, it may be found in a microfilm copy of the parish registers. There is no duplicate of a birth certificate or death certificate at the parish level. Consult the England Civil Registration page for an indepth understanding. The England 1851 Jurisdiction maps provide an interactive view of the parishes in relation to district boundaries. (details about England 1851 Jurisdiction website)
Districts Pre 1937
- Cambridge
- Caxton
- Chesterton
- Ely
- Linton
- Newmarket - also covers Suffolk Parishes
- North Witchford
- Royston - also covers Hertfordshire Parishes
- Whittlesey
- Wisbech - - also covers Norfolk Parishes
Districts that cover a few parishes of Cambridgeshire
- Downham - Welney Parish
- Peterborough - Stanground and Thorney Parishes
- Risbridge - Helion Bumpstead Parish
- St Ives - Boxworth, Conington, Fen Drayton, Lolworth, Over, Swavesey Parishes
- St Neots - Graveley Parish
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 25 June 2012, at 17:17.
- This page has been accessed 218 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More