Bury St Paul, LancashireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
St. Paul's chapel was built in 1841, and lay within the parish boundary of Bury St Mary ancient parish.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church of England
Bury St. Paul chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Bury St. Mary to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk project|
|FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk|
|LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk|
|AC = Ancestry.co.uk|
|FREG = FreeReg|
|BURY ST PAUL Chapelry (1841) Indexes|
|BURY ST MARY PARISH (1590) Indexes (ancient parish containing BURY ST PAUL Chapelry)|
|LOPC||1699-1844||1591-1849, 1860-1861||1699-1728, 1739-1748, 1759-1837|
|BURY ST JOHN Chapelry (1770) Indexes|
|FS||1785-1829, 1846-1852||None||1785-1812, 1819-1867|
|BURY HOLY TRINITY Chapelry (1865) Indexes|
|EDENFIELD Chapelry (1728) Indexes|
|FS||1728-1771, 1798-1845, 1857-1877||None||1774-1820|
|LOPC||1731-1845, 1857-1877||None||1774-1845, 1856-1877|
|ELTON ALL SAINTS Chapelry (1837) Indexes|
|HEYWOOD ST LUKE Chapelry (1731) Indexes|
|HEYWOOD ST JAMES Chapelry (1841) Indexes|
|HOLCOMBE EMMANUEL Chapelry (1730) Indexes|
|RAMSBOTTOM ST PAUL Chapelry (1850) Indexes|
|TOTTINGTON ST ANNE Chapelry (1799) Indexes|
|UNSWORTH ST GEORGE Chapelry (1730) Indexes|
|WALMERSLEY CUM SHUTTLEWORTH CHRIST CHURCH Chapelry (1785) Indexes|
|FS||1785-1812, 1838-1842, 1860-1864||1785-1812||1785-1812, 1838-1841, 1858|
|WATERFOOT ST JAMES Chapelry (1860) Indexes|
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Bury St. John and comprising the whole ancient parish of Bury St. Mary to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the BURY ST MARY PARISH page.
Original Records in Archives
Original parish and chapelry registers are held in the Manchester Archives and Studies centre in Manchester Central Library, St Peter's Square, Manchester, M2 2PD. Also, microfilm copies of these original registers are held at the Family Hsitory Library in Salt Lake City, UT, USA. See the Family History Library online Catalog for further details about their holdings.
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306922. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Poor Law Unions
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
- ↑ &nbsp;Samuel A. Lewis: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 452-460. URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=50848 Date accessed: 04 March 2011.&gt;
- This page was last modified on 13 June 2013, at 16:29.
- This page has been accessed 332 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More