Burton upon Stather, LincolnshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.png  Lincolnshire Parishes


Contents

Parish History

"BURTON-UPON-STATHER (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Glandford-Brigg, N. division of the wapentake of Manley, parts of Lindsey, county of Lincoln, 35½ miles (N. by W.) from Lincoln, and 164½ (N. by W.) from London; containing, with the hamlets of Normanby and Thealby, and part of that of Coleby, 799 inhabitants, of whom 429 are in the township of Burton." [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Glanford Brigg registration district

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images  via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Burton upon Stather Par 1 will identify available images.

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives, St Rumbold Street,Lincoln,Lincolnshire,LN2 5AB,England Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue

Link to the Family History Library Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Burton upon Stather

Census records

Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438762. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:

  • FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
  • FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
  • Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
  • The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
  • FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
    Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Glanford Brigg Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 448-452.


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 23 July 2012, at 17:24.
  • This page has been accessed 240 times.