Burton Constable, YorkshireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
England
Yorkshire
North Riding
Constable Burton
Contents |
Parish History
Burton Constable was created as a chapelry of Finghall, Yorkshire Ancient Parish in Yorkshire.Other places in the parish include: Studdow. .
BURTON-CONSTABLE, a hamlet, in the parish of Swine, union of Skirlaugh, Middle division of thewapentake of Holderness, E. riding of York, 8 miles(N. E.) from Hull; containing 71 inhabitants. In the time of the Conqueror, this place was part of the possessions of the Archbishop of York; it shortly afterwards came to the family of Constable, who are the present owners. The hamlet comprises 1247a. 3r. 2p. of land,lying in West Newton township, in the parish of Aldbrough, but usually returned with Ellerby township,in Swine parish. Burton-Constable House, the seat of Sir Thomas Aston Clifford Constable, Bart., is a splendid mansion, said to have been partly erected so early as the reign of Stephen, but the two principal fronts of which,east and west, each about 130 feet long, have been built upon, and added to, an ancient edifice probably of the time of Henry VIII. The apartments are of exceedingly handsome design, and appropriately embellished, and the whole buildings are of a character suitable to a residence of distinction: the parks, also, and the gardens,are excellently kept.
From: A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 448-452. URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=50847 Date accessed: 09 May 2011.
Resources
Civil Registration
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records
Online Records
Online data content from chapelry registers of Burton Constable exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
| AO = Archive.org | |||||
| FS = FamilySearch.org | |||||
| ANC = ancestory.co.uk (£) | |||||
| HATH = HathiTrust.org | |||||
| JMI = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk |
| BURTON CONSTABLE CHAPELRY (1***) Online Records | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| |
|
|
| |||
| |
Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images |
| FS | None |
|
None |
|
None |
|
| JMI | None |
|
None |
|
None |
|
| ANC (£) | |
|
|
|
|
|
| HATH | None |
|
None |
|
None |
|
| AO | None |
|
None |
|
None |
|
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Warrington-Padgate Christ Church and comprising the whole ancient parish of Swine to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the SWINE PARISH page.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in date.
Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, nonconformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.
Census records
a. Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is INVALID/MISSING FHL number. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Poor Law Unions
Leyburn Poor Law Union, Yorkshire
Probate records
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Web sites
|
|
This section requires expansion with: any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 1 May 2013, at 01:26.
- This page has been accessed 351 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More