Burnley St James, LancashireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
England
Lancashire
Lancashire Parishes
Contents |
Chapelry History
Burnley St James, Bethesda Street Burnley was created a chapelry in 1844 and taken from and lay within the boundaries of Whalley Parish.
The Diocese of Blackburn is a Church of England diocese, covering much of Lancashire, created in 1926 from part of the Diocese of Manchester. The Diocese includes the towns of Blackburn, Blackpool, Burnley, and the cities of Lancaster, and Preston, as well as a large part of the Ribble Valley.
The church closed in 1966.
Resources
Civil Registration
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD
Lancashire Online Parish Clerks
An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/
Church records
Online Records
Church of England
Burnley St. James chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Whalley to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:
| FS = FamilySearch.org | |||||
| LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk project | |||||
| FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk | |||||
| LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk | |||||
| AC = Ancestry.co.uk | |||||
| FREG = FreeReg |
| BURNLEY ST JAMES Chapelry (1841) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | None | 1849-1900 | None | ||
| LOPC | 1845-1900 | 1841-1879 | 1850-1856 | ||
| LBMD | None | 1849-1972 | None | ||
| WHALLEY ST MARY AND ALL SAINTS PARISH (1538) Indexes (ancient parish containing BURNLEY ST JAMES Chapelry) | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | 1538-1888 | 1539-1837 | None | ||
| LOPC | 1538-1601, 1605-1845, 1848-1860, 1862-1875 | 1539-1601, 1605-1647, 1653-1900 | 1538-1601, 1605-1840, 1843-1891 | ||
| LBMD | 1837-1937 | None | 1837-1937 | ||
| FMP | None | 1539-1627 | None | ||
| AC | 1538-1601, 1605-1653 |
1538-1601, 1605-1653 |
1538-1601, 1605-1653 | ||
| FREG | 1538-1631 | 1539-1651 | 1538-? | ||
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Burnley St. James and comprising the whole ancient parish of Whalley to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the WHALLEY PARISH page.
Census records
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306895. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Poor Law Unions
Burnley Poor Law Union,Lancashire
Probate records
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Web sites
|
|
This section requires expansion with: any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 11 October 2012, at 00:53.
- This page has been accessed 307 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More