Burlingham St Andrew, NorfolkEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
England
Norfolk
Norfolk Parishes
Contents |
Parish History
BURLINGHAM (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union and hundred of Blofield, E. division of Norfolk, 2 miles (W. by S.) from Acle. [1]
Burlingham St Andrew is an Ancient parish in the Diocese of Norwich.
One of the three Burlingham parishes the medieval church tower construction can be dated from 1460.
South Burlingham Burlingham St Edmund, Norfolk is the surviving church for the village; the ruined Burlingham St Peter, Norfolk was lost in 1936 after the 1906 tower collapse into the church.
Genuki.org.uk provides further information on the history of this parish. Maureen Mitchell has provided a picture of St. Andrew Church.
Resources
Civil Registration
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
- Blofield 1837-1935
- Halvergate 1935-1938
- Norwich Outer 1939-1974
- Norwich
Church records
Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection
Norfolk Record Office reference PD 180/ 1-5
Images of the parish registers may be viewed online in Historic record Collections (formerly Record Search)
Archdeacons transcripts, 1600-1812
| Content |
Film |
| Baptisms 1600-1607, 1623-1637, 1665-1812 Marriages 1602-1609, 1630-1637, 1665-1812 Burials 1600-1609, 1623-1637, 1665-1812 |
FHL BRITISH Film 1526737 Item 2 |
Census records
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438849. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
1891 Census Surname Index courtesy of the Norfolk Transcription Archive.
Poor Law Unions
Blofield http://www.workhouses.org.uk/index.html?Blofield/Blofield.shtml
The union consisted of the following parishes: Acle, Beighton, Blofield, Bradestone, Brundall, Buckenham Ferry, Burlingham St Andrew, Burlingham St Edmund, Burlingham St Peter, Cantley, Freethorpe, Halvergate, Hassingham, Hemblington, Limpenhoe, Lingwood, Moulton, Great Plumstead, Little Plumstead, Postwick, Ranworth with Panxworth, Reedham, Southwood, Strumpshaw, Thorpe St Andrew, Tunstall, Upton with Fishley, Walsham St Lawrence, Walsham St Mary, Wickhampton, Witton, Woodbastwick.
Blofield Union was incorporated under the 1834 Act. The Union Workhouse was opened in 1836 at Lingwood. Blofield Union Board of Guardians was replaced by Guardians Committee No. 3 in 1930.
Received by the Norfolk Record Office on 6 May 1971 (C/GP2/29) and on unknown dates
Probate records
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Web sites
|
|
This section requires expansion with: any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above. |
Reference
- ↑ Lewis, Samuel A..,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 437-440.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 8 April 2013, at 15:00.
- This page has been accessed 234 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More