Burleigh County, North DakotaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Burleigh County, North Dakota genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.
| Burleigh County, North Dakota | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of North Dakota | |
![]() Location of North Dakota in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | January 4, 1873 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Bismarck |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Burleigh County Courthouse 514 E Thayer Ave PO Box 5518 Bismarck, ND 58501-4413 Phone: 701.222.6690 Burleigh County Website |
Contents |
County Courthouse
Clerk District Court has marriage and probate records from 1898,
Court Records from 1876 and burial records from 1950’s[1]
History
Parent County
1873--Burleigh County was created 4 January 1873 from Buffalo County. County seat: Bismarck [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Neighboring Counties
Emmons | Kidder | Mclean | Morton | Oliver | Sheridan
Resources
Cemeteries
Census
- 1880
- 1885
- 1890
- 1900
- 1915
- 1920
- 1925
- 1930
Church
Court
Land
Local Histories
Maps
Military
Civil War
Civil War Battle
The following Civil War battle was fought in Burleigh County.
- July 28, 1863 = Stony Lake[3]
- Map showing Civil War battles in North Dakota.
Newspapers
Probate
Taxation
Vital Records
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the North Dakota Vital Records State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Burleigh County, North Dakota Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Burleigh County Genealogy (North Dakota Genealogy)
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Burleigh County, North Dakota. Page 522 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 13 August, 2012)
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 16 May 2013, at 17:08.
- This page has been accessed 1,631 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

