Burgh-next-Aylsham, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Gotoarrow.png  Norfolk Parishes

St Mary, Burgh next Aylsham, Norfolk .jpg

Contents

Parish History

BURGH, a district comprising the consolidated parishes of St. Margaret and St. Mary, in the East and West Flegg incorporation, hundred of West Flegg, E. division of Norfolk, 4 miles (N. E. by E.) from Acle.[1]


Burgh -next-Aylsham St Mary is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Norwich.

A mediaeval church in the perpendicular style.

Burgh and Tuttington is a civil parish in the English county of Norfolk. For the purposes of local government, it falls within the district of Broadland. The parish includes Burgh next Aylsham and Tuttington.

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

  • Aylsham 1837-1935
  • Norwich Outer 1939-1974
  • Norwich

Church records

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection

Images of the parish register for this parish are available

Norfolk Record Office reference PD232/1-4

Parish registers of Burgh-Next-Aylsham Microfilm copy of original in the Norfolk Record Office, Norwich.
Some records in Latin.
Baptisms, 1563-1651, 1659-1741; marriages, 1563-1650, 1661-1741; burials, 1563-1650, 1661-1741; baptisms & burials, 1742-1812; marriages, 1741-1754; baptisms, 1813-1902; marriages, 1838-1902. FHL BRITISH Film 1951408 Items 11 - 14
Burials, 1813-1901. FHL BRITISH Film 2147114 Item 2

Archdeacons transcripts

Baptisms, 1600-1610, 1623-1633, 1665-1812; Marriages, burials, 1600-1610, 1623-1633, 1665-1812. FHL BRITISH Film 1526779 Item 10

See also

England Norfolk Church of England Parish Registers and Bishops’ Transcripts (FamilySearch Historical Records)



Census records

a.  Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438850. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:

  • FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
  • FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
  • Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
  • The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
  • FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.

Index for the Census may be searched at FamilySearch Historical Records


Poor Law Unions

Aylsham Poor Law Union

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Poor law records of Burgh-Next-Aylsham Microreproduction of original records at the Norfolk Record Office, Norwich.
Norfolk Record Office nos.: PD232/16-22.

Settlement certificates, 1737-1824; lists of settlement certificates, 1782-1793; removal orders, 1757-1834, 1781; settlement examinations, 1770-1836; settlement disputes, 1740-1835; apprenticeship indentures, 1750-1837; bastardy bonds, orders and papers, 1754-1792, 1790-1827, 1783. FHL BRITISH Film 2147114 Items 3 - 12

See England Norfolk Poor Law Union Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

http://www.achurchnearyou.com/burgh-next-aylsham-st-mary/ for information about the parish

http://freepages.genealogy.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~tinstaafl/Church_Pages/burgh_next_aylsham.htm for photographs and transcript information

http://www.norfolkchurches.co.uk/burghnextaylsham/burghnextaylsham.htm Norfolk Churches website

http://www.mercers.co.uk/netbuildpro/process/236/StMarytheVirginBurghnextAylshamNorfolk.php The Mercer's Company benefice

Reference

  1. Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 431-437.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 8 April 2013, at 14:50.
  • This page has been accessed 462 times.