Bures St Mary, EssexEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
England
Essex
Essex Parishes
Bures St Mary
Guide to Bures St Mary, Essex family history and genealogy. Parish registers (baptism, christening, marriage, and burial records), civil registration (birth, marriage, and death records), census records, history, wills, cemetery, online transcriptions and indexes, an interactive map and websites.
Contents |
Parish History
Bure St. Mary, is a parish in the district of Sudbury and counties of Essex and Suffolk; it is on the river Stour and on the Sudbury railway, at Bures station, it is 5 miles SSE of Sudbury. There is a Baptist chapel.[1]
Resources
Civil Registration
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Family History Library Catalog entries for parish church records are located only under Suffolk.
Census records
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241369. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Probate records
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
■England Jurisdictions 1851
■Vision of Britain
Web Sites
References
- ↑ Wilson, John M., Imperial Gazetteer of England (1870) Adapted 10 May 2013.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 22 May 2013, at 14:42.
- This page has been accessed 276 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More