Bullington, LincolnshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.png  Lincolnshire Parishes


Contents

Parish History

"BULLINGTON, a chapelry, in the parish of Goltho, W. division of the wapentake of Wraggoe, parts of Lindsey, union and county of Lincoln, 2¾ miles (W.) from Wragby; containing 52 inhabitants."

The Ancient Priory of Gilbertine monks had a chapel (St James) which served the parish.

After dissolution of the monasteries the priory church fell into ruin.

Bullington was a chapelry of Goltho, Lincolnshire and the registers of that parish should be searched.

A Wesleyan Methodist chapel was built in 1878

Bullington is a village and civil parish about 8 miles North East of Lincoln. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

This parish was in the North East sub-district in Lincoln registration district

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

 Goltho, Lincolnshire

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives,

St Rumbold Street
Lincoln
Lincolnshire
LN2 5AB
England

Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue.

Link to the Family History Library CatalogueBullington

Census records

Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438764. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:

  • FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
  • FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
  • Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
  • The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
  • FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.

Poor Law Unions

Lincoln Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 428-431.



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 18 October 2012, at 13:10.
  • This page has been accessed 232 times.