Buckenham OldEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
England
Norfolk
Norfolk Parishes
Buckenham Old
Contents |
Parish History
BUCKENHAM, OLD (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Guiltcross, hundred of Shropham, W. division of Norfolk, 3 miles (S. S. E.) from Attleburgh; There are places of worship for Baptists, Sandemanians, and Primitive Methodists.[1]
Resources
Civil Registration
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Civil Registration Districts
See the website, www.freebmd.rootsweb.org for an online index to all births, marriages and deaths from 1837 to at least 1940.
Church records
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Here is a list of church records on microfilm at the Family History Library (FHL) in Salt Lake City.
| Parish Registers Content | FHL Film |
| Baptisms, burials and marriages 1725-1812
Family History Library BRITISH Film |
BRITISH 1526817 Item 15 |
|
Baptisms, burials, 1648-1691; marriages, 1649-1691. Baptisms, marriages, 1692-1778; burials, 1692-1717, 1734-1778. Baptisms, burials, 1778-1812. Baptisms, 1813-1908. Marriages, 1754-1801; marriage banns, 1755-1765 Marriages, 1801-1812; marriage banns, 1801-1881. Marriages, 1813-1907. Burials, 1813-1901. Marriage banns, 1882-1907.
|
BRITISH Film
1911508 Items 19 - 24 BRITISH Film 1911509 Items 1 - 6 |
At present the only Record Search images online are those for Old Buckenham, Norfolk under a heading "Buckenham" This awaits future engineering for correction and Buckenham Parva (Buckenham Tofts) registers are not available online.
Non-Conformist Churches
Census records
a. Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438865. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Probate records
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Poor Law Unions
Census Records
a. Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438865. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Web sites
|
|
This section requires expansion with: any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above. |
Reference
- ↑ Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 415-420. Adapted. Date accessed: 05 February 2013.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 8 April 2013, at 14:44.
- This page has been accessed 83 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More