Brown County, OhioEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Brown County Ohio genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Brown County, Ohio | |
| Map | |
| |
![]() Location of Ohio in the U.S. | |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Brown County Courthouse 101 S. Main St. Georgetown, Ohio 45121 Brown County Website Phone: 937.378.3100 |
|---|---|
Historical Facts
| Beginning dates for major county records | |||||
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| *For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries | |||||
- Parent Counties: Formed from Adams and Clermont counties 27 December 1817.[1]
- County Seat: Georgetown
- Neighboring Counties: Brown County, Ohio residents may also have records in Bracken County, Kentucky (southwest), · Mason County, Kentucky (south) · Adams (east) · Clermont (west) · Clinton (north) · Highland (northeast)
Boundary Changes
See an interactive map of Brown County boundary changes.
Record Loss
Resources
Bible Records
Biography
Business Records and Commerce
Cemeteries
- Decatur Cemetery, Byrd Township
- Eckman Cemetery, Bryd Township
- Liberty Chapel Cemetery, Byrd Township
- Brown County, Ohio Cemetery Index
- Brown County, Ohio Cemeteries
- Brown County Cemeteries
- Ohio Gravestones
- Find A Grave (126 cemeteries listed)
- Ohio Home Town Locator, Brown County, OH (96 cemeteries listed)
- The Tombstone Transcription Project
- Ohio Tombstone Photo Project, Brown County
- Brown Count of Ohio Cemeteries
- German Reformed Presbyterian Cemetery
- The Political Graveyard
- Many obituaries, bible and cemetery Records for Brown County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
- Many cemetery records for Brown County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
| Online Grave Transcripts | Published Grave Transcripts | County Cemetery Directories |
| Family History Library | ||
| WorldCat | ||
| Billion Graves | ||
See Ohio Cemeteries for more information.
Census
| Historical populations | |||
|---|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± | |
| 1820 | 13,356 | ||
| 1830 | 17,867 | 33.8% | |
| 1840 | 22,715 | 27.1% | |
| 1850 | 27,332 | 20.3% | |
| 1860 | 29,958 | 9.6% | |
| 1870 | 30,802 | 2.8% | |
| 1880 | 32,911 | 6.8% | |
| 1890 | 29,899 | −9.2% | |
| 1900 | 28,237 | −5.6% | |
| 1910 | 24,832 | −12.1% | |
| 1920 | 22,621 | −8.9% | |
| 1930 | 20,148 | −10.9% | |
| 1940 | 21,638 | 7.4% | |
| 1950 | 22,221 | 2.7% | |
| 1960 | 25,178 | 13.3% | |
| 1970 | 26,635 | 5.8% | |
| 1980 | 31,920 | 19.8% | |
| 1990 | 34,966 | 9.5% | |
| 2000 | 42,285 | 20.9% | |
| 2010 | 44,846 | 6.1% | |
- Free Public Records Directory
- 1820 United States Federal Census $
- 1830 United States Federal Census $
- 1840 United States Federal Census $
- United States Census 1850 United States Census Population Schedules, 1850 (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- U. S. Federal Census Mortality Schedules, 1850-1880 $
- United States Census 1860United States Census Population Schedules, 1860 (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- 1850 United States Federal Census, 1860 $
- United States Census 1870 United States Census Population Schedules, 1870 (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- United States Census 1880 (Index only) United States Census Population Schedules, 1870 (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- United States Census 1880] $
- United States Census Population Schedules, 1880 (FamilySearch Historical Records) United States Census 1880
- 1890 Veterans Schedule $
- United States Census 1900 United States Census Population Schedules, 1900 (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- 1910 United States Federal Census $
- United States Census 1910 [United States Census Population Schedules 1910 (FamilySearch Historical Records)]]
- United States Census 1920 United States Census Population Schedules 1920 (FamilySearch Historical Records)
- 1930 United States Federal Census $
Church Records
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Ohio denominations, view the Ohio Church Records wiki page.
General
Finding Church Records at Other Repositories
Additional church records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Brown County, Ohio Church Records in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Court Records
- Record Project, Brown County Public Record Informatin Guide
- Many court records for Brown County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
- Many orphans and orphanages for Brown County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political, or Religious Groups
Funeral Homes
- Cahall Funeral Home, with recent obituaries
- Megie Funeral Home, with recent obituaries
- Funeral Homes near Brown County, Ohio
Gazetteers
Genealogy
History
Local Histories
Local histories are available for Brown County, Ohio. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Ohio Local Histories.
- Brown County, Ohio Biographies
- Brown County, Ohio Biography (WorldCat)
- Brown County, Ohio (WikipediA)
- Historical Collections of Ohioby Henry Howe Volume 1 (1888)
- National Register of Historic Places
- Many history records for Brown County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Land and Property
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Ohio Land and Property for additional information about early Ohio land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
- Brown County Land Records
- Land Patent Search
- Many land records for Brown County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Finding Land Records at Other Repositories
Additional land records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Brown County, Ohio Land and Property Records in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog(For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Maps
- 1914 County Map for Brown-Clermont
- Brown County, Ohio Map
- File: Map of Brown County Ohio With Municipal and Township Labels
- David Rumsey Map Collection
- Maps of Brown County
- Many maps for Brown County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Military
- Civil War Pension Index Cards
- Civil War Research Database $
- World War I Draft Registration Cards, 1917-1918 $
- U. S. World War II Army Enlistment Records, 1938-1946 $
- United States, World War II Draft Registratoin Cards, 1942
- Brown County, Ohio World War II Casualties Army and Air Force
- Many military records for Brown County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Naturalization and Citizenship
- Many naturalization and citizenship records for Brown County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Newspapers
Brown County, Ohio newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.
To access newspapers, contact public libraries, Ohio Genealogical Society chapters, college or university libraries, the Library of Congress, Google News, or the Ohio Historical Society. The Ohio Genealogical Society Obituary Database is another source of newspaper information.
For more Ohio newspaper information see the Newspaper Guides on the wiki page Ohio Newspapers.
- Brown County Newspapers
- Brown County Newspapers
- The Democratic Standard, from before 1850
- Many newspaper extracts for Brown County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Online Newspapers
Online Newspaper Abstracts
Newspaper Extracts and Abstracts in Book Form
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Brown County, Ohio newspapers in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Do a Brown County, Ohio Place-name search for these and other records in the Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Obituaries
Periodicals
Probate
Probate records created after 1852 are held by the Brown County, Ohio Probate Court. From 1797 or the creation of the county, probate records were held by the Court of Common Pleas. Most counties transferred all records to the Probate Court, but in some circumstances, Court of Common Pleas records should be searched for records prior to 1852. Most records are housed at the Brown County, Ohio Courthouse. Some records are on microfilm at the Ohio Genealogical Society and the Family History Library. For more complete information about the location of county probate records see:
- Carol Willsey Bell, Ohio Wills and Estates to 1850: An Index (1981). [2] FamilySearch Books Online - Free online copy.
See the wiki page Ohio Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (1867-1908 only).
- 1790–1967 - Ohio, Probate Records, 1790-1967 at FamilySearch Historical Records – free. This collection consists of probate records and estate files from county courthouses in Ohio. The content and time period varies by county, with more records being added as they become available. This Collection will include records from 1789 to 1996. Currently, (September 2012) the collection is only searchable by browsing the images. A list of Fires that have destroyed records in the courthouses of several counties are listed on the Record Description page.
- 1790–1967 - Ohio, Probate Records, 1790-1967 at FamilySearch Historical Records – free. This collection consists of probate records and estate files from county courthouses in Ohio. The content and time period varies by county, with more records being added as they become available. This Collection will include records from 1789 to 1996. Currently, (September 2012) the collection is only searchable by browsing the images. A list of Fires that have destroyed records in the courthouses of several counties are listed on the Record Description page.
- Brown County, Ohio Will Testators (1817-1858)
- Many probate records for Brown County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Finding Probate Records at Other Repositories
Additional probate records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Brown County, Ohio Probate Records in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Public Records
Repositories
Courthouse
Brown County Courthouse
101 S Main Street
Georgetown, OH 45121-00
Phone: 937.378.3100
Probate Judge has birth, marriage and probate records from 1800’s.
County Health Department has death records from 1800’s.
Court Clerk has divorce and court records from 1800’s.
County Recorder has land records.[1]
Family History Centers
FamilySearch Centers are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources for family history research.
The main FamilySearch Center for Brown County, Ohio is the Georgetown Ohio Family History Center. For additional nearby Family History Centers, search online in the FHC directory.
Libraries
Museums
Societies
- Brown County OHGenWeb Project
- Brown County, Ohio Historical Society
- Ohio Historical Society Collections
Schools
- Ohio Schools
- Many school records for Brown County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Taxation
Ohio tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information see the wiki page Ohio Taxation.
Ohio Tax Records, 1816-1838 Finding Tax Records at Other Repositories
Additional tax records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Brown County, Ohio Tax Records in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Vital Records
Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Ohio enacted a statute in 1856 -1857 requiring registration of births, deaths and marriages, many did not comply. A second law was written in 1867 but, again, was not always followed. By 1908, the law was more clearly defined and kept. Any existing birth and death records from 1867 through December 19, 1908 are located at the Brown County, Ohio Probate Court. The Ohio Department of Health has birth records filed after December 20, 1908 and death records filed after January 1, 1954 while the Ohio Historical Society houses death records from December 20, 1908 through December 31, 1953.
Original marriage records are held at the office of the Brown County, Ohio Probate Court with divorce records located with the Brown County, Ohio Clerk of Courts.
Birth
Online Birth Indexes and Records
- 1800-1962 - Ohio, Births and Christenings Index, 1800-1962 at ancestry.com ($)
- 1821–1962 - Ohio, Births and Christenings, 1821-1962 at FamilySearch Historical Records – free. This is an incomplete index of extractions of original records and of patron-submitted records. This index is not complete for any particular place or region. Information may have been previously published in the International Genealogical Index or Vital Records Index collections.
- 1856–1909 - Ohio, County Births, 1856-1909 at FamilySearch Historical Records – free; Index. The collection includes a name index and images of county birth records in Ohio. The time period and type of record varies by county. Original Birth Records on Microfilm
- 1908-1964 - Ohio, Birth Index, 1908-1964 at ancestry.com ($)
Marriage
Online Marriage Indexes and Records
- 1803-1900 - Ohio Marriages, 1803-1900 at ancestry.com ($)
- 1898-1912 - Ohio Marriages at ancestry.com ($)
- 1970-2007 - Ohio Marriage Index, 1970, 1972-2007 at ancestry.com ($)
Original Marriage Records on Microfilm
Death
Online Death Indexes and Records
- Brown County Vital Records
- Many vital records for Brown County have been microfilmed or abstracted. Some of those copies are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. For a listing of their holdings, see topic details.
Original Death Records on Microfilm
Divorce
- 1962-2007 - Ohio Divorce Index, 1962-1963, 1967-1971, 1973-2007 at ancestry.com ($)
- 1962-2007 - Ohio Divorce Index, 1962-1963, 1967-1971, 1973-2007 at ancestry.com ($)
Finding Vital Records at Other Repositories
Additional vital records can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Brown County, Ohio Vital Records in online catalogs like:
- WorldCat (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Family History Library Catalog (For instructions see FHL Catalog Place-name Search).
Web Sites
- Family History Library Catalog
- Brown County Ohio
- Brown County, Ohio History and Genealogy
- Ohio Genealogy Express
- Brown County History and Information
- Linkpendium
- Cyndi's List. Brown County
Places
Populated Places
- Brown County, Ohio Townships
- Histopolis Brown County, Ohio
- National Register of Historic Places listings in Brown County, Ohio
- Brown County, Ohio (WikipediA)
- Place Names, Brown County Populated Places
References
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 540, Brown County, Ohio. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Carol Willsey Bell, Ohio Wills and Estates to 1850: An Index (Columbus, Ohio: the author, 1981). FamilySearch Books Online - Free online copy.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 17 May 2013, at 00:36.
- This page has been accessed 4,391 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More


