Broughton, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png West Riding Gotoarrow.png Broughton

Contents

Parish History

BROUGHTON-in-Airedale (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Skipton, E. division of the wapentake of Staincliffe and Ewcross, West Riding Yorkshire, includes the hamlet of Elslack.[1]


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Broughton exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

AO = Archive.org
FS = FamilySearch.org
ANC = ancestory.co.uk (£)
HATH = HathiTrust.org
JMI = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk
BROUGHTON CHAPELRY (1653) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1724-1843

1720-1862

1685-1898

JMI None

None

None

ANC (£)





HATH 1653-1804

1653-1759

1653-1803

AO None

None

None


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Warrington-Padgate Christ Church and comprising the whole ancient parish of Kirby in Cleveland to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the KIRBY IN CLEVELAND PARISH page.


This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813.  Church of England records began in 1671.

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, nonconformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.

Census records

a.  Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464270. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:

  • FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
  • FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
  • Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
  • The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
  • FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites 

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 409-412.
 

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 April 2013, at 00:51.
  • This page has been accessed 359 times.