Broadwater County, MontanaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Montana
Broadwater County
Guide to Broadwater County Montana genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Broadwater County, Montana | |
| Map | |
![]() Location of Montana in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | February 9, 1897 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Townsend |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Broadwater County Courthouse 515 Broadway Townsend, MT 59644 Phone: 406.266.3443 Broadwater County Website |
Historical Facts
| Beginning dates for major county records | |||||
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| |
|
|
|
|
|
| * For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries | |||||
- Parent County: created 9 February 1897 from Jefferson and Meagher counties
- County Seat: Townsend [1]
- Neighboring Counties: Gallatin | Jefferson | Lewis and Clark | Meagher
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Resources
Biography
Cemeteries
Census
For tips on accessing Broadwater County, Montana census records online, see: Montana Census.
Church Records
Court Records
Emigration and Immigration
Ethnic, Political or Religious Groups
Genealogy
History
Land and Property
Maps
- See an interactive map of Broadwater County cemeteries and modern-day townships. (Histopolis)
Military
Naturalization and Citizenship
Newspapers
- NewspaperArchive.com ($) has a collection of digitized Montana newspapers including Butte and Helena newspapers that may include residents of Broadwater County. This database is sometimes free at libraries.
Obituaries
Probate
Public Records
Repositories
Courthouse
County Clerk Records has birth and death from 1900, land and military records. Clerk Court has marriage, divorce, probate, court and naturalization records.[2]
Family History Centers
Introduction to LDS Family History Centers
Libraries
Museums
Societies
Taxation
Vital Records
Birth
Marriage
For early marriages see Western States Marriage Index.
Death
Websites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
Places
| Lombard | Toston |
| Radersburg | Winston |
References
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 415.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 3 May 2013, at 15:11.
- This page has been accessed 1,361 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
