Bristol County, MassachusettsEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
| Bristol County, Massachusetts | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of Massachusetts | |
![]() Location of Massachusetts in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | June 2, 1685 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Taunton |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Bristol County Courthouse 9 Court Street Taunton, MA 02780-3223 Phone: 508.824.9681 Bristol County Website |
Contents |
County Courthouse
Clerk of the courts has court records from 1796 and naturalization records; town clerks have birth, marrriage and death records, marriage and death records; Probate Court has divorce records 1921 and probate records[1]
Towns Organized Before 1800:
Attleboro 1694,
Berkley 1735,
Dartmouth 1652,
Dighton 1712,
Easton 1725,
Freetown 1683,
Manfield 1770,
New Bedford 1787,
Norton 1710,
Raynham 1731,
Rehoboth 1645,
Sandwich 1638,
Somerset 1790,
Swansea 1667,
Taunton 1639,
Westport 1787
History
Parent County
- Created 2 June 1685 from Plymouth Colony lands. [1]
- Bristol County is one of very few counties that border on another county with same name - Bristol County, Rhode Island.
Boundary Changes
- In 1746, Bristol, Barrington, and Warren were awarded to Bristol County Rhode Island. At the same time, part of Attleborough, Massachusetts was annexed to Cumberland, Providence, Rhode Island. And Tiverton and Little Compton were transferred to Newport County, Rhode Island.
- In 1862, part of Seekonk (now East Providence, Rhode Island) and the entirety of East Pawtucket were transferred to Providence County, Rhode Island. At the same time, land ceded from Rhode Island was added to Fall River and Westport.
Record Loss
Places / Localities
Cities: Attleboro | Fall River | New Bedford | Taunton
Towns: Acushnet | Berkley | Dartmouth | Dighton | Easton | Fairhaven | Freetown | Mansfield | North Attleborough | Norton | Raynham | Rehoboth | Seekonk | Somerset | Swansea | Westport
Ceded or Extinct Towns: Barrington | Bristol | Little Compton | Pawtucket | Tiverton | Wellington[2]
Neighboring Counties
Norfolk | Plymouth | Rhode Island counties: Bristol | Newport | Providence
Resources
Cemeteries
- Cemeteries of Bristol county Massachusetts at Find A Grave
- Bristol county Massachusetts Cemeteries Database at The Plymouth Colony Pages
- Rehoboth Cemeteries and Cemetery Transcriptions at USGenWeb
Individual cemeteries:
- Oak Grove Cemetery, Fall River BillionGraves
Census
For tips on accessing Bristol County, Massachusetts census records online, see: Massachusetts Census.
State Census
1855 Massachusetts State Census—a free searchable index and images to the 1855 Massachusetts State Census can be viewed on the FamilySearch Record Search. This index includes every name listed on the census and is linked to an image including information about each person’s residence and age in 1855, birthplace, occupation, other family members, and neighbors.
1865 Massachusetts State Census—a free searchable index and images to the 1865 Massachusetts State Census can be viewed on the FamilySearch Record Search This index includes every name listed on the census and is linked to an image including information about each person’s residence and age in 1865, birthplace, occupation, other family members, and neighbors.
Church
Directories
- Fall River: 1896 | 1905 part 1 | 1915 | 1918 | 1921
Court
Gazetteers
Land
There are three Registry of Deeds in the county, located at
- Fall River - Fall River District Registry of Deeds
- New Bedford - Southern District Registry of Deeds
- Taunton - Northern District Registry of Deeds
Local Histories
History of Rehoboth Massachusetts by George H. Tilton at Google Books
History of Bristol County, Massachusetts by Duane Hamiton Hurd at Internet Archive
Maps
Military
Newspapers
Probate
Taxation
Vital Records
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- The Bristol County MAGenWeb Project, an member of The MAGenWeb Project, an affiliate of The USGenWeb Project.
- The USGenWeb Archives Project for Bristol County
- The USGenWeb Archives Project for Bristol County (backup site)
- FamilySearch.org Family History Library catalog for Bristol County
References
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), 329. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Michael J. Leclerc, Genealogist's Handbook for New England Research, 5th ed. (Boston, Mass.: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2012), 224-26. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974 D27g 2012.
| This Massachusetts-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 22 March 2013, at 17:03.
- This page has been accessed 2,892 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More


