Bramley, YorkshireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
England
Yorkshire
Yorkshire Parishes
West Riding
Bramley
Contents |
Chapel History
BRAMLEY, a chapelry, in the parish of St. Peter, liberty of the borough of Leeds, West Riding,Yorkshire, 4 miles (W. N. W.) adjacent hamlets, Stanningley (St. Thomas), Rodley, Newlay, and White Cote. There are places of worship for Baptists, Primitive Methodists,Wesleyans, and Roman Catholic.[1]
Civil Registration
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records
Online Records
Online data content from chapelry registers of Bramley exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
| AO = Archive.org | |||||
| FS = FamilySearch.org | |||||
| ANC = Ancestry.co.uk (£) | |||||
| HATH = HathiTrust.org | |||||
| JMI = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk |
| BRAMLEY CHAPELRY (1717) Online Records | ||||||
| |
|
|
| |||
| |
Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images |
| FS | 1717-1842 |
|
1724-1847 |
|
None |
|
| JMI | None |
|
None |
|
None |
|
| ANC (£) | |
|
|
|
|
|
| HATH | None |
|
None |
|
None |
|
| AO | None |
|
None |
|
None |
|
| LEEDS ST PETER PARISH (1572) Online Records | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| |
|
|
| |||
| |
Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images |
| AC | 1572-1910 | 1572-1910 | 1572-1935 | 1572-1935 | 1572-1854 | 1572-1854 |
| FS | 1572-1837 | None | 1572-1837 | None | Add | None |
| JMI | None | None | 1572-1722 | None | None | None |
| Leeds Holy Trinity Chapelry (1730) Online Records | ||||||
| AC | 1730-1910 | 1730-1910 | 1730-1922 | 1730-1922 | 1730-1854 | 1730-1854 |
| Leeds St John the Evangelist Chapelry (1773) Online Records | ||||||
| AC | 1773-1910 | 1773-1910 | 1773-1935 | 1773-1935 | 1773-1855 | 1773-1855 |
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Warrington-Padgate Christ Church and comprising the whole ancient parish of Leeds to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on theLEEDS PARISH page.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, nonconformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection.
Census records
a. Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464285. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Probate records
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Web sites
References
- ↑ Lewis, Samuel A., Topographical Dictionary of England, publ. London: 1831 Wilson, John M., Imperial Gazetteer of England & Wales, publ. London & Edinburgh: 1870; see at http://www.visionofbritain.org.uk/descriptions
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 10 April 2013, at 01:39.
- This page has been accessed 529 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More