Bramley, SurreyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Surrey Gotoarrow.png  Surrey Parishes

Contents

Parish History

BRAMLEY, a parish, in the union of Hambledon, First division of the hundred of Blackheath, W. division of Surrey, 3 miles (S. by E.) from Guildford. [1]

From: 'Braithwell - Brampton-Abbots', A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 339-343. URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=50822 Date accessed: 07 June 2013.

Church records

Online Bramley, Surrey Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1563
1567
1563
Indexes 1563-1840 FreeREG[2] 1567-1837 BritishOrigins[3] 1563-1840 FreeREG[2]
1566-1875 FamilySearch[4] 1696-1881 FamilySearch[5] 1676-1865 FindMyPast[6]
1880-1881 Ancestry[7]

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Census records

Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474648. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:

  • FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
  • FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
  • Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
  • The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
  • FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.

Probate records

Surrey will abstracts (1470-1858) are available online at British Origins ($).[8]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Surrey Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.


Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Web sites

References

  1. Lewis,Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 339-343. Date accessed: 07 June 2013.
  2. 2.0 2.1 Surrey Coverage in FreeReg, FreeREG, accessed 14 April 2012.
  3. 'Surrey Marriage Index - Parishes in the index,' British Origins, accessed 18 September 2012.
  4. Batches C067951, C067952, C067953, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for Surrey, England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 April 2012.
  5. Batches M067951, M067952, M067953, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for Surrey, England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 April 2012.
  6. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 11 April 2012. For a breakdown of missing years, see 'National Burial Index - Coverage: Surrey,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 11 April 2012.
  7. 'Vital Records Index - British Isles - Collection List,' British Isles Vital Records Index, 2nd ed., hosted at Genoot, accessed 14 April 2012.
  8. 'About Surrey and South London Will Abstracts 1470-1858,' Origins.net, accessed 27 June 2012.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 7 June 2013, at 10:37.
  • This page has been accessed 533 times.