Bradford St Philip, LancashireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
England
Lancashire
Lancashire Parishes
Contents |
Chapelry History
Bradford St Philip Chapelry in Manchester was created and in operation by the year 1850 taken from Manchester All Souls, Lancashire Ecclesiastical Parish.
An Image of the church can be viewed online at www.images.manchester.gov.uk/libraries Manchester Image Collection
Resources
Civil Registration
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD
Church records
Online Records
St Philip Bradford Chapelry, in Manchester has online transcriptions for its baptisms, marriages and burials, as well as for Christ Church Bradford and for the ancient or mother parish of Manchester Cathedral of Our Lady, St George and St Denys. These online transcriptions are all available and located at the web sites indicated below; note the ranges of years:
| FS =FamilySearch.org | |||||
| LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk | |||||
| FMP = FMP = FindMyPast | |||||
| LBMD = Lancashire BMD | |||||
| AC = Ancestry.co.uk |
| BRADFORD ST PHILIP Chapelry (1850) Indexes | |||||||||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||||||||
| FS | 1850-1910 | 1850-1935 | None | ||||||||
| LOPC | None | None | None | ||||||||
| LBMD | 1837-1881;1908-1936 | 1850-1950 | None | ||||||||
| BRADFORD CHRIST CHURCH Chapelry (1862) Indexes | |||||||||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||||||||
| FS | 1862-1910 | 1862-1930 - part. | 1862-1943 - part. | ||||||||
| LOPC | None | None | None | ||||||||
| LBMD | 1908-1936 | 1862-1968 | None | ||||||||
|
MANCHESTER CATHEDRAL - OUR LADY, ST GEORGE AND ST DENYS (1573) Indexes | |||||||||||
|
|
Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | ||||||||
| FS | 1573-1872 | 1573-1889 | None | ||||||||
| LOPC | 1573-1616;1777-1837 | 1573-1616;1782-1836 - part. yrs | 1573-1616;1792-1836 - part. yrs | ||||||||
| LBMD | 1837-1881 | 1837-1946 | 1837-1881 | ||||||||
| AC | 1573-1616 | 1573-1616 | 1573-1616 | ||||||||
To view a full list of all (over 150) of Manchester City's numerous chapelries and district churches and the links to online data for each, see the ancient parish (Cathedral) of MANCHESTER OUR LADY, ST GEORGE, & ST DENYS page.
Original Records
Parish registers for St. Philip's Church, Bradford Road, Manchester, have been microfilmed from 1850 on. Microfilmed copy of original registers were filmed at the Manchester Archives Central Library in Manchester, England and formerly held at Manchester Central Library
Manchester Archives Central Library call nos.: M299/3/1/1-9, M299/3/2/1-12.
FamilySearch call no.'s include the following:
| Baptisms, 1850-October 1883. |
VAULT BRITISH Film 2357535 |
| Baptisms, October 1883-1942. Marriages, 1850-November 1867. |
VAULT BRITISH Film 2357536 |
| ages, November 1867-October 1895. |
FHL BRITISH Film 2357537 |
| Marriages, October 1895-May 1925, April 1935-March 1945. |
VAULT BRITISH Film 2357637 |
| Marriages, March 1945-1950, June 1925-1935. |
FHL BRITISH Film 2357638 Items 1 - 2 |
Census records
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438721. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Poor Law Unions
Probate records
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Web sites
|
|
This section requires expansion with: any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 29 September 2012, at 12:01.
- This page has been accessed 159 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More