Bourne, LincolnshireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
England
Lincolnshire
Lincolnshire Parishes
Contents |
Parish History
Bourne is an Ancient Parish and a market town; the ecclesiastical parish of Bourne is part of the Beltisloe Deanery of the Diocese of Lincoln and is based at the Abbey Church of St Peter and St Paul, in Church Walk. Several other religious denominations are represented in the town, including the Methodist, Baptist and United Reformed churches, and the Roman catholic church.."
Other places in the parish include: South Fens, Tongue End, Twenty, Austerby, North Bourne, Bourn South Fen, Cawthorpe, Dyke, Dyke Fen, and Bourn North Fen.
"BOURNE (St. Peter and St. Paul), a parish, and the head of a union, in the wapentake of Aveland, parts of Kesteven, county of Lincoln, 36 miles (S.) from Lincoln, and 97 (N.) from London; containing, with the hamlets of Cawthorpe and Dyke, 3361 inhabitants. . There are places of worship for Presbyterians and Wesleyans."[1]
Resources
Civil Registration
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records
Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives,
St Rumbold Street
Lincoln
Lincolnshire
LN2 5AB
England
Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue.
The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Bourne Par 1 will identify available images.
Search Family History Library Catalogue Bourne
Census records
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438756. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Lincolnshire Census
Poor Law Unions
Bourne Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire
Probate records
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites
|
|
This section requires expansion with: any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above. |
References
- ↑ Lewis, Samuel A. Topographical Dictionary of England. Published London (1848); URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/source.aspx?pubid=445
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 23 July 2012, at 17:10.
- This page has been accessed 316 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
