Boothby Pagnell, LincolnshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Lincolnshire Gotoarrow.png  Lincolnshire Parishes


St+Andrew Boothby+Pagnell Lincolnshire.JPG

Contents

Parish History

Boothby Pagnell St Andrew is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Lincoln. The ecclesiastical parish spelling differs from the civil parish for the village which for local and national government purposes is Boothby Pagnall and appears as such on Ordnance Survey maps.

Although Sir Isaac Newton's uncle William Ayscough, the brother of Hannah Ayscough, was vicar of nearby Burton Coggles, during his time of discovery in 1666-7, Newton spent some time in the summer at the rectory of Boothby Pagnell, which had a considerable orchard. It is unknown whether Newton saw the apple fall at Boothby Pagnell or Woolsthorpe with Stainworth, Lincolnshire.

 The vicar was the Trinity College Fellow Humphrey Babington, the brother of Katherine Babington. She was a friend of Hannah Ayscough and the wife of William Clark, the owner of the house at which Newton lodged in Grantham whilst at school.

In his memoirs, Newton noted that he worked on Fluxions (what became differential calculus) at Babington's rectory, and also calculated the area under a hyperbola (involving integral calculus).


"BOOTHBY-PAGNELL (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Grantham, wapentake of Winnibrigs and Threo, parts of Kesteven, county of Lincoln, 5¼ miles (N. N. W.) from Corby."[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives, St Rumbold Street,Lincoln,Lincolnshire,LN2 5AB,England Enquiries: lincolnshire.archives@lincolnshire.gov.uk The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue

The digitisation of parish records for the county now offers images via the Lincs to the past website (July 2011). Use advanced search terms at Search Lincs to the past to search for available images for parish registers and other records for this parish with images. Advance search terms Boothby Pagnell Par 1 will identify available images.

Link to the Family History Library Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Boothby Pagnell

Census records

Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438756. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:

  • FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
  • FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
  • Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
  • The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
  • FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
    Lincolnshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Grantham Poor Law Union, Lincolnshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 302-305.


  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 302-305.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 23 July 2012, at 17:07.
  • This page has been accessed 349 times.