Bonner County, IdahoEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Idaho
Bonner County, Idaho
| Bonner County, Idaho | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of Idaho | |
![]() Location of Idaho in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | February 21, 1907 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Sandpoint |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Bonner County Courthouse 602 Bonner 215 South First Ave Sandpoint, ID 83864-1392 208-265-1438 Fax: 208-265-1434 |
Contents
|
County Courthouse
Bonner County Courthouse
215 South First Ave
Sandpoint, ID 83864-1392
208-265-1438
Fax: 208-265-1434
County Clerk has birth and death records 1907-1911 marriage, divorce and court records from 1907 probate from 1890 and land records from 1889. [1]
Quick Facts
Parent County
21 February 1907: Bonner County was created from Kootenai County. Named for Edwin L. Bonner who established a ferry on the Kootenai River near present day Bonners Ferry. [2]
Boundary Changes
23 January 1915: Boundary County created from portions of Bonner and Kootenai Counties
Record Loss
Places/Localities
| |||||||||||||||
Resources
Many of the older court, land, naturalization, probate, pension, and vital records for Bonner County have been microfilmed and are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City and at the Idaho State Archives in Boise. Details of the county records in these respective institutions can be obtained from their online catalogs or listings. Original records which have been microfilmed and more recent records are in the county courthouse in Sandpoint. [3]
Cemeteries
There are many cemeteries in Bonner County. For a list of those that have been identified, and links to transcriptions and/or photographs of tombstones, go to Bonner County, Idaho Cemetery Records.
For the cemeteries in or immediately adjacent to the cities, please see the city pages for the cities listed above.
Census
| Historical populations | |||
|---|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± | |
| 1910 | 13,588 | ||
| 1920 | 12,957 | −4.6% | |
| 1930 | 13,152 | 1.5% | |
| 1940 | 15,667 | 19.1% | |
| 1950 | 14,853 | −5.2% | |
| 1960 | 15,587 | 4.9% | |
| 1970 | 15,560 | −0.2% | |
| 1980 | 24,163 | 55.3% | |
| 1990 | 26,622 | 10.2% | |
| 2000 | 36,835 | 38.4% | |
| sources:[4][5] | |||
For a summary of census records for the state of Idaho, see Idaho Census Records.
Church History and Records
Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints (Mormons)
- The following are local congregations (wards) which existed in Bonner County, Idaho prior to 1950.
- For original or later records, check with the Church History Library in Salt Lake City.
- Many of the records to about 1948 are available at the FamilySearch Library in Salt Lake City and at its FamilySearch Centers.
- 21 February 1907: Bonner County was created from Kootenai County, Idaho.
- Sandpoint
County Commissioners' Records
The minute books of the County Commissioners contain interesting tidbits of history about the county as well as the names of individuals appealing to the County Commissioners for action on issues of concern to them. Minutes of those meetings were recorded from the formation of the county, for most counties. Some counties now post the minutes of current meetings online.
Most of these records have been preserved in the county courthouses of the State of Idaho. Few have been microfilmed. Contact the county clerk for information about years covered and availability.
Court Records
Some of the early court records of Bonner County, Idaho have been microfilmed and are available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise, Idaho. The records filmed include civil suits, divorce papers, judgment dockets, etc. Copies of these microfilmed court records are also available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah or at any of the Library'sFamily History Centers. Additional court records and more recent records are housed at the Bonner County courthouse in Sandpoint, Idaho, and can be accessed by making a visit there.
Some of the Bonner County court records that have been microfilmed are:
- Civil actions, 1904-1928; register, 1911-1912; index, 1904-1911
- Power of attorney, 1883-1938; index, 1891-1986
Judgment Books
- Judgments, 1891-1931; index, 1882-1949
(Includes divorces, probate documents, civil and criminal actions and many other court actions.)
Miscellaneous records are outlined in the Miscellaneous Series below.
History
The book Beautiful Bonner: the History of Bonner County, Idaho was published in 1991. Its companion book is Beautiful Bonner: History and Memories.
Another published work is Hoodoo Valley History by the Bonner County Historical Society.
Land and Property
Land and Property records are generally recorded in the county courthouse of the county in which the transaction took place. For original records of Bonner County, Idaho, one may visit the courthouse in Sandpoint, Idaho.The Idaho State Archives has microfilmed many county records of Bonner County and these can be accessed by visiting the Archives in Boise, Idaho.
The Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah has microfilmed some Bonner County records pertaining to land and property, which can be viewed in the Library in Salt Lake City or in any of its Family History Centers. Films available are:
- Civil actions, 1904-1928; register, 1911-1912; index, 1904-1911
- Deeds, 1885-1906; index, 1885-1910
- Miscellaneous court records, 1905-1933
Maps
- A digital Bonner County Idaho map is available online.
- Map of Bonner County, Idaho is available online.
Military History and Records
World War I draft registration cards, 1917-1918, for Bonner County have been microfilmed. Copies of these records are available at the Family History Library (their microfilm number 1452110) and are also available online at Ancestry.com, for a subscription fee. The original cards are maintained in the Southeast Regional Archives of the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) in East Point, Georgia and have been microfilmed by the National Archives as their Microcopy M1509. These records are also available online on the Bonner County GenWeb site. See the links to other Military records from Bonner County on this site.
Miscellaneous Series
Often overlooked by the genealogist, this group of volumes may contain affidavits for citizenship, final disposition of estates, divorce decrees, and many other types of valuable documents. The content varies from county to county, year to year and from clerk to clerk. When the estate case files, civil or criminal files are not available or have been destroyed, you may find key documents recorded here. Most counties will have an index to this series and it is a must search if the information you are seeking is not found elsewhere.
Both the Idaho State Archives in Boise, Idaho, and the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah have copies of the miscellaneous record of Bonner County. The originals are held in the Bonner County courthouse in Sandpoint, Idaho and can be accessed by visiting there. Copies in the Idaho State Archives are available for viewing in Boise. Those held by the Family History Library can be viewed either at the Library in Salt Lake City or at any of its Family History Centers.
Newspapers
Current
- Bonner County Bee
- Priest River Times
Historical
The Idaho State Archives has microfilmed some of the early Sandpoint newspapers as well as other Bonner County newspapers which can be accessed by visiting the Archives in Boise, Idaho. The newspapers are listed under the name or town where the newspaper was published.
Probate
Any existing original probate records for Bonner County should be in the county courthouse located in Sandpoint, Idaho. You can access these records by visiting the courthouse.
The Idaho State Archives has microfilm copies of many of the early Bonner County probate records which can be read at the Archives in Boise, Idaho.
The Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah also has some microfilms of earlier Bonner County probate records. The following are available for viewing at the Library in Salt Lake City, or at any of itsFamily History Centers:
- Miscellaneous probate court records, 1905-1933
- Probate journal, 1891-1929; docket index, 1890-1900; journal index, 1911-1933
Taxation
Any existing tax assessment rolls for Bonner County should be in the courthouse in Sandpoint and would need to be accessed by visiting there.
Vital Records
Birth
The Birth Registers for Bonner County, 1907-1911, have been microfilmed and are available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise and at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah. Birth records, 1911 to present, for individuals born in Bonner County are included in and recorded at the state level. These records are restricted for a period of one hundred years from the time of the individual's birth but can be obtained by following the guidelines as issued by the State of Idaho. See the Vital Records section under the subject Idaho for more details.
Marriage
Over 3200 marriages, 1907-1931, are listed on the Western States Marriage Index.
Deaths
The death registers for Bonner County, 1907-1911 have been microfilmed and are available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise and at the Family History Library (FHL) in Salt Lake City, Utah.
After 1911, deaths occurring in Bonner County are included in the state-wide registration program. These records are restricted for a period of fifty years from the time of the individual's death but can be obtained by following the guidelines as issued by the State of Idaho. See the Vital Records section under Idaho for details.
Copies of death certificates from 1911-1954 are on microfilm and can be used at the Idaho State Archives, the Family History Library, BYU-Idaho University Library in Rexburg and several other locations.
A state-wide index to Idaho Deaths, 1911-1956 is available online. Efforts to expand this index to 1960 are underway. Another version is the US Genweb Idaho Death Index 1911-1956.
Societies, Libraries and Museums
Many public libraries provide internet access to sites of value to the family historian. Some have special collections of historical and cultural interest, as well. The following libraries may have some resources of value, but use of some or all of them may require a visit to the library.
- West Bonner District Library
219 Main St
Priest River, ID 83856
Phone: (208) 448-2207
Website - East Bonner County District Library
1407 Cedar St
Sandpoint, ID 83864
Phone: (208) 263-6930
Website - Priest Lake District Library
28769 Hwy 57
Priest Lake, ID 83856
Phone: (208) 443-2454
Website
- Bonner County Genealogy Society
- Bonner County Historical Society and Museum
Family History Centers
- Introduction to LDS Family History Centers
- Priest River Idaho Family History Center
- Sandpoint Idaho Family History Center
Web Sites
- The Bonner County ID GenWeb Project, a member of The IDGenWeb Project, an affiliate of The USGenWeb Project
- Family History Library Catalog
- Bonner County, Idaho Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Bonner, Idaho page 177, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Idaho State Historical Society Reference Series, Number 10, Counties and County Seats, Reissued July, 1991.
- ↑ census.gov - Idaho population by county, 1900-90 accessed 2009-05-03
- ↑ quickfacts.census.gov - Canyon County accessed 2009-05-03
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 10 May 2013, at 16:59.
- This page has been accessed 3,219 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More





