Birdbrook, EssexEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
England
Essex
Essex Parishes
Birdbrook
Guide to Birdbrook, Essex family history and genealogy. Parish registers (baptism, christening, marriage, and burial records), civil registration (birth, marriage, and death records), census records, history, wills, cemetery, online transcriptions and indexes, an interactive map and websites.
Contents |
Parish History
BIRDBROOK (St. Augustine), is a parish, in the union of Risbridge, the hundred of Hinckford, and N. division of Essex, it is 7 miles (N. W.) from Castle Hedingham. This parish, is separated from the county of Suffolk by the river Stour.[1]
Resources
Civil Registration
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records
| | |||||||||||||||||||
| |
|
| |||||||||||||||||
| Earliest | |
|
| ||||||||||||||||
| Images | 1633-1874 | EssexAncestors[2] | 1633-1904 | EssexAncestors[2] | 1633-1836 | EssexAncestors[2] | |||||||||||||
| Indexes | 1633-1783 | FreeREG[3] | 1633-1653 1662-1754 |
FreeREG[3] | 1633-1783 | FreeREG[3] | |||||||||||||
| 1633-1836 | FindMyPast[4] | 1633-1812 | FindMyPast[5] | ||||||||||||||||
Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records. Add links to the Family History Library Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection
Census records
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241369. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Probate records
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Essex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Web sites
References
- ↑ Lewis, Samuel A. A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Adapted access date 7 May 2013
- ↑ 2.0 2.1 2.2 Essex Ancestors: Unearth Your Roots, Seax - Essex Archives Online From the Essex Record Office, accessed 3 March 2012.
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 3.2 Essex Coverage in FreeReg, FreeREG, accessed 15 April 2012.
- ↑ "Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county," Origins.net, accessed 12 June 2011; Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists Enterprises Ltd., 1994). FHL Book 942 K22L 1994
- ↑ 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage,' Find My Past, accessed 11 April 2012. For a breakdown of missing years, see 'National Burial Index - Coverage: Essex,' Federation of Family History Societies, accessed 23 April 2012.
|
|
This section requires expansion with: any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 11 June 2013, at 16:32.
- This page has been accessed 589 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More