Billinge, LancashireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
England
Lancashire
Lancashire Parishes
Contents |
Chapelry History
Billinge St Aidan was created a chapelry in 1720, taken from, and lying within Wigan [All Saints] Ancient Parish.
Other places in the parish include: Billing Higher End.
Billinge lies within the historic county boundaries of Lancashire. After being divided into two townships, Billinge Chapel End and Billinge Higher End in the Wigan Poor Law Union, in 1872 Billinge Local Board of Health was established for the area of these two townships and two detached parts of Winstanley township (one known as Blackley Hurst and the other situated in the Carr Mill area, both lying within the area of Billinge Chapel End township).
In 1894 the area of the Local Board (together with the remaining area of Winstanley township) became Billinge Urban District and in 1927 the Urban District was renamed Billinge-and-Winstanley Urban District.
In 1974 Billinge Higher End and most of Winstanley became part of the Metropolitan Borough of Wigan in Greater Manchester, with Billinge (including the remainder of Winstanley) becoming part of St. Helens Metropolitan Borough in Merseyside.
"BILLINGE, CHAPEL-END, a township and chapelry, in the parish and union of Wigan, hundred of West Derby, S. division of the County of Lancaster, 5½ miles southwest of Wigan. The chapel was built in 1650, and rebuilt in 1718.[1] Within the chapelry district, was Roman Catholic chapel at Birchley.
Resources
Civil Registration
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD
Lancashire Online Parish Clerks
An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/
Church records
Online Records
Church of England
Billinge chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Wigan to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:
| AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£) | |||||
| FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk (£) | |||||
| FREG = FreeReg | |||||
| FS = FamilySearch.org | |||||
| LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk | |||||
| LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk |
| BILLINGE ST AIDAN Chapelry (1696) Indexes | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | 1696-1857 | 1762-1857 | None | ||
| LOPC | 1696-1899 | 1699-1709, 1722-1922 | 1699-1714, 1721-1872, 1899-1936 | ||
| LBMD | 1904-1918 | None | 1904-1918 | ||
| AC | 1696-1812 | 1696-1812 | 1696-1812 | ||
| WIGAN ALL SAINTS PARISH (1578) Indexes (ancient parish containing BILLINGE Chapelry) | |||||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |||
| FS | 1578-1926 | 1594-1880 | 1749-1952 | ||
| LOPC | 1813-1842, 1844, 1861-1869, 1879-1896 | 1594-1625, 1754-1898 | 1754-1904 | ||
| LBMD | 1837-1950 | 1837-1950 | 1837-1951 | ||
| FMP | None | 1594-1837 | None | ||
| AC | 1580-1625 |
1580-1625 |
1580-1625 | ||
| FREG | 1580-1588, 1590-1625 | 1594-1625 | 1584-1597, 1600-1626 | ||
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Billinge and comprising the whole ancient parish of Wigan to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the WIGAN ALL SAINTS PARISH page.
Census records
Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306908. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:
- FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
- FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
- Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
- The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
- FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.
Poor Law Unions
Probate records
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Web sites
|
|
This section requires expansion with: any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.. |
References
- ↑ A Topographical Dictionary of England by Samuel Lewis (1848), pp. 237-241. URL: http://www.british-history.ac.uk/report.aspx?compid=50798 Adapted. Date accessed: 25 June 2010.
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 2 January 2013, at 00:03.
- This page has been accessed 481 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More
