Betws Ifan, CeredigionEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Betws Ifan, Cardiganshire)

WalesGotoarrow.pngCeredigionGotoarrow.pngBetws Ifan

A guide to genealogy in Betws Ifan, with information on where to find birth, baptism, marriage, death and burial records; census records; wills; cemeteries; maps; ...

Betws Ifan is a village and ecclesiastical parish in Ceredigion, Wales. The village is in the community of Beulah.

Before 1974 the village was in the historic county of Cardiganshire and, between 1974 and 1996 in the County of Dyfed. In 1996 it became part of the modern county of Ceredigion.

Contents

History

In 1833: "BETTWS-IEUVAN, or EVAN (BETTWS-IEUAN), a parish in the lower division of the hundred of TROEDYRAUR, county of CARDIGAN, SOUTH WALES, 5 Miles (N.) from Newcastle-Emlyn, containing 386 inhabitants. This parish is situated a short distance to the east of the turnpike road leading from Cardigan to Aberystwith. The living is a perpetual curacy, annexed, with that of Brongwyn, to the vicarage of Penbryn in the archdeaconry of Cardigan, and diocese of St. David's. The church, dedicated to St. John, has been recently repaired, and has received two hundred and fifty additional sittings, of which one hundred are free, the Incorporated Society for the building and enlargement of churches and chapels having granted £25 towards defraying the expense. The average annual expenditure for the support of the poor is £ 124.6." [From Samuel Lewis's A Topographical Dictionary of Wales 1833]

For further information on Betws Ifan see Betws Ifan at Genuki.

Records

Civil Registration

Church Records

Census Records

Census records from 1841-1891 are available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464305. To view these census images online, they are available through the following websites for a fee ($) or free:

  • FamilySearch has some of the British Censuses available.
  • FindMyPast ($) has all available census records including images, and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and some public and academic libraries.
  • Ancestry.co.uk ($) has now all available census records but free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and at numerous public and academic libraries. The library versions are known as AncestryInstitution.com.
  • The Genealogist.co.uk ($) has all available censuses and is free at Family History Centers and the Family History Library and various other libraries.
  • FreeCen is a UK census searches. It is not complete and individuals are always asked to consider helping out with transcriptions.

Probate Records

Maps and Gazetteers

Web Sites


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 14 June 2013, at 13:52.
  • This page has been accessed 205 times.