Benson County, North DakotaEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Benson County, North Dakota genealogy and family history research page. Guide to genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.
| Benson County, North Dakota | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of North Dakota | |
![]() Location of North Dakota in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | March 9, 1883 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Minnewaukan |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Benson County Courthouse 311 B Ave Street Minnewaukan, ND 58351 Phone: 701.473.5345 Benson County Courthouse |
Contents |
County Courthouse
Clerk District Court has birth records from late 1890’s, marriage
records from late 1800’s, divorce, probate and court records from 1895
and burial records from 1900; Register of Deeds has land records[1]
History
Parent County
1883--Benson County was created 9 March 1883 from DeSmet and Ramsey Counties. County seat: Minnewaukan [2]
Boundary Changes
Record Loss
Places/Localities
Populated Places
Indian Reservations
Spirit Lake Reservation is located primarily in Benson County, with a portion in Eddy County. Historically it was also known as Devils Lake Reservation, and sometimes incorrectly referred to as Fort Totten Reservation.
Neighboring Counties
Eddy | Nelson | Pierce | Ramsey | Towner | Wells
Resources
Cemeteries
www.findagrave.com/cgi-bin/fg.cgi
Census
- 1885
- 1890
- 1900
- 1915
- 1920
- 1925
- 1930
Church
Court
Land
Local Histories
Maps
Military
Newspapers
Probate
Taxation
Vital Records
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the North Dakota Vital Records State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Web Sites
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- Family History Library Catalog
- Benson County, North Dakota Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
References
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Benson County, North Dakota. Page 522 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 16 May 2013, at 16:57.
- This page has been accessed 1,536 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More

