Bennington County, VermontEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
United States
Vermont
Bennington County
Guide to Bennington County Vermont genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Bennington County, New Hampshire | |
| Map | |
![]() Location in the state of New Hampshire | |
![]() Location of New Hampshire in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded | February 11, 1779 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Bennington |
| Courthouse | |
| Address | Bennington County Courthouse 207 South Street, Bennington, VT 05201-2247 Phone: 802-442-8528 802.447.2700 Bennington County Website |
Contents |
County Courthouse
Town Clerks have birth, marriage, death and burial records; County Clerk has divorce records from 1899 and court records from 1861; Probate Judge has probate records
Towns Organized before 1800:
Arlington 1761,
Bennington 1749,
Dorset 1761,
Glastenbury 1761,
Landgrove 1780,
Manchester 1761,
Peru 1761,
Pownal 1760,
Rupert 1761,
Sandgate 1761,
Shaftsbury 1761,
Sunderland 1761,
Winhall 1761[1]
Quick Facts
Parent County
Created 11 February 1779 from the Colonial lands.[1]
Boundary Changes
- Windham County was set off 22 February 1781.
Record Loss
Places / Localities
Towns:
Extinct Town: Glastenbury (incorportation ended 1937)[2]
Neighboring Counties
Rutland | Windsor | Windham | Massachusetts Counties: Berkshire | Franklin | New York Counties: Rensselaer | Washington
Resources
Archives and Libraries
Cemeteries
- List of Bennington County Cemeteries
- List of Pownal Cemeteries: Includes some transcriptions
Census
Federal
1790 US Census, Bennington County, Pownal Town Transcription
State
1785
Church Records
Courtesy of the Pownal Historical Society, Inc.:
Court Records
Gazetteers
History
Land and Property
Courtesy of The Pownal Historical Society, Inc.:
Maps
Courtesy of the Pownal Historical Society, Inc.
Military Records
Courtesy of Pownal Historical Society, Inc.:
- Green Mountain Boys from Pownal | About the Green Mountain Boys
- American Revolution: Soldiers buried in Vermont
- Civil War: Vermont Volunteers
Newspapers
- Newspaperarchive.com ($) has historical newspapers available on-line. Their database has North Adams, MA newspapers (1895-1977) covering local news that included Windham County residents.
Probate Records
There are two Bennington County Probate Districts
- Bennington District - Bennington, Glastenbury, Pownal, Readsboro, Searsburg, Shaftsbury, Stamford and Woodford.
- Manchester District - Arlington, Dorset, Landgrove, Manchester, Peru, Rupert, Sandgate, Sunderland and Winhall.
A wiki article describing an online collection is found at:
Vermont, Bennington County Manchester District, Probates (FamilySearch Historical Records)
Taxation
Vital Records
Courtesy of the Pownal Historial Society, Inc.
Societies, Libraries and Museums
Family History Centers
Websites
- The Bennington County VTGenWeb Project, an member of The VTGenWeb Project
- The USGenWeb Archives Project
- The USGenWeb Archives Project (backup site)
- FamilySearch.org
References
- ↑ 1.0 1.1 Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 698. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Michael J. Leclerc, Genealogist's Handbook for New England Research, 5th ed. (Boston, Mass.: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2012), 394. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974 D27g 2012.
| ||||||||||||
| This Vermont-related article is a stub. You can help by expanding it. While this page is under construction, may we suggest Cyndi's List. |
Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.
Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.
Did you find this article helpful?
You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).
- This page was last modified on 19 April 2013, at 01:53.
- This page has been accessed 2,184 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.
Learn More


